Origin: Sweden
Genres: Black Metal

The Abyss  

The Abyss is basically Hypocrisy playing black metal -- the same three guys, though they have switched instruments here, with Peter Tägtgren moving to drums and drummer Lars Szöke and bassist Mikael Hedlund playing guitars. This is heads-down, speedy old-school black metal, well played though a bit samey and monotonous. The vocals are of a typical black metal rasp (all three are listed as vocalists, but it only sounds like one guy). Not a bad effort here, but as Hypocrisy side projects go, Pain is better.

Special thanks to DJ "Killa" for providing the opportunity to review this band!

Current Members

Mikael Hedlund

guitars/vocals (Hypocrisy)

Lars Szöke

guitars/vocals (ex-Hypocrisy)

Peter Tägtgren

drums/bass/vocals (ex-Bloodbath, Hypocrisy, ex-Lock Up, Pain)


The Other Side 
1994 Nuclear Blast
  1. Marutukku
  2. Tjanare Af Besten
  3. Psycomantum
  4. Massacara
  5. Morkrets Vandring
  6. Sorgens Dal
  7. Slukad
  8. Forintelsens Tid Aro Kommen
  • Mikael Hedlund
  • Lars Szöke
  • Peter Tägtgren

Summon The Beast 
1996 Nuclear Blast
  1. Satans Majestic Empire
  2. Blessed With the Wrath of Evil
  3. Damned
  4. Summon the Beast
  5. The Hymn
  6. Cursed
  7. Feasting the Remains of Heaven
  8. The Arrival

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!