Origin: Perth, Scotland
Genres: Power Metal
official site Facebook Twitter


This self-described "True Scottish Pirate Metal" band is generating a bit of buzz, though how much of it is based on music and how much is based on image is debateable. It all goes back to 2004 when a band known as Battleheart emerged. As Battleheart they self-released two EPs and then signed to Napalm Records, and as that label already had a similarly-named band (Battlelore), Battleheart officially became Alestorm in August 2006, and in short order the proper full-length debut, Captain Morgan's Revenge, was put out. Now, it's not as if this image is new, as Running Wild employed (and, arguably, ran into the ground) the pirate theme years ago, but Alestorm are determined to embrace every pirate cliche imagineable and run with it. Musically, they are weakly in the folk metal camp and more aligned with power metal and even rollicking Viking metal (musically, not lyrically, of course), with Turisas being an occasional soundalike. Overall, they're enjoyable enough and good for a laugh, but musically they haven't really established a unique identity, which may or may not be an issue as they progress.

Current Members

Christopher Bowes

vocals (Gloryhammer)

Máté Bodor


Gareth Murdock

bass/backing vocals

Elliot Vernon


Pete Alcorn


Former Members/Guests

Gavin Harper


Lasse Lammert (guest)


Dani Evans


Migo Wagner (guest)


Ian Wilson

drums (Sweet Savage)


(EP) Battleheart 
2006 self-released
  1. The Glorious Battle
  2. Heavy Metal Pirates
  3. Over the Seas
  4. No Quarter
  5. Nancy the Tavern Wench
  6. Journey Man
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Gavin Harper

(EP) Terror On The High Seas 
2006 self-released
  1. The Curse of Captain Morgan
  2. Set Sail and Conquer
  3. Terror on the High Seas
  4. Wenches and Mead
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Gavin Harper
  • Dani Evans

Captain Morgan's Revenge 
2008 Napalm
  1. Over the Seas
  2. Captain Morgan's Revenge
  3. The Huntmaster
  4. Nancy the Tavern Wench
  5. Death Before the Mast
  6. Terror on the High Seas
  7. Set Sail and Conquer
  8. Of Treasure
  9. Wenches & Mead
  10. Flower of Scotland
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Gavin Harper
  • Dani Evans
  • Migo Wagner

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility  Teeth Of The Divine 

(EP) Leviathan 
2008 Napalm
  1. Leviathan
  2. Wolves of the Sea
  3. Weiber und Wein
  4. Heavy Metal Pirates
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Gavin Harper
  • Lasse Lammert
  • Dani Evans
  • Migo Wagner

Black Sails At Midnight 
2009 Napalm
  1. The Quest
  2. Leviathan
  3. That Famous Ol' Spiced
  4. Keelhauled
  5. To the End of Our Days
  6. Black Sails at Midnight
  7. No Quarter
  8. Pirate Song
  9. Chronicles of Vengeance
  10. Wolves of the Sea
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Dani Evans
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Ian Wilson

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Brave Words 

Back Through Time 
2011 Napalm
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Dani Evans
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Pete Alcorn

Reviews:   Metal Review  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Brave Words  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

Live At The End Of The World  LIVE
2013 Napalm
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Dani Evans
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Elliot Vernon
  • Pete Alcorn

Sunset On The Golden Age 
2014 Napalm
  1. Walk the Plank
  2. Drink
  3. Magnetic North
  4. 1741 (The Battle of Cartagena)
  5. Mead from Hell
  6. Surf Squid Warfare
  7. Quest for Ships
  8. Wooden Leg!
  9. Hangover (Taio Cruz cover)
  10. Sunset on the Golden Age
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Dani Evans
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Elliot Vernon
  • Pete Alcorn

Reviews:   Brave Words  Metal Observer  Sputnik Music  Metal Storm  Metal Storm 

No Grave But The Sea 
2017 Napalm
  1. No Grave But The Sea
  2. Mexico
  3. To the End of the World
  4. Alestorm
  5. Bar und Imbiss
  6. Fucked with an Anchor
  7. Pegleg Potion
  8. Man the Pumps
  9. Rage of the Pentahook
  10. Treasure Island
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Máté Bodor
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Elliot Vernon
  • Pete Alcorn

Reviews:   Metal Storm 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!