Origin: Tampa, FL, USA
Genres: Death Metal


The name Amon is familiar to many Deicide fans, as in fact it's the original name of that band (as the story goes, the record company noted that King Diamond had a song called "Amon" and demanded a band name change, and thus Deicide was born). Years later (around 2004), the Hoffman brothers famously and acrimoniously split with Deicide mainman Glen Benton, and vowed to start their own band. By 2007 that band was in place, and the old Amon name was brought back to life. Finally, the debut album, Liar In Wait, was released in 2012. No surprises here with the style -- the Hoffmans know their way around a death metal riff and this album is chock full of 'em, while the other guys (vocalist/bassist Jechael and drummer Mike Petrak) put in commendable performances as well. The production could use some work (this is self-released, after all), and there's not of variation here, though that's somewhat typical of the genre. Not a classic, but good enough to uphold the high standards of classic Tampa death metal.

Current Members

Jechael (Jesse Jolly)

vocals/bass (ex-Diabolic)

Eric Hoffman

guitars (ex-Deicide)

Brian Hoffman

guitars (ex-Deicide)

Mike Petrak



Liar In Wait 
2012 self-released
  1. Among Us
  2. Eye of the Infinite
  3. Lash Thy Tongue and Vomit Lies
  4. Liar in Wait
  5. Reaching for Flesh
  6. Semblance of Man
  7. Sentience and Sapience
  8. Spat Forth from the Darkness
  9. Wraith of Gaia
  • Jechael
  • Eric Hoffman
  • Brian Hoffman
  • Mike Petrak


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!