Origin: France
Genres: Black Metal

Blut Aus Nord  

One of France's true innovators in the black metal scene, Blut Aus Nord came into being in the mid-nineties and released a few albums to some fanfare, but it's The Work That Transforms God, released in 2003, where things really get interesting. The basics of this album is an odd, very dissonant, tone-warped guitar sound, complex programmed drums, frequent ambient interludes surrounding the harsher numbers, topped with mostly typical (and often processed) black metal rasps, with songs ranging in tempo from rapid-fire speed to almost doom droning. Yet this description doesn't quite convey how unique this album is. It's harrowing, evil stuff, and while it's undeniably heavy, it doesn't resort to mindless bludgeoning like many modern black metal bands do. With The Work That Transforms God, Blut Aus Nord have acheived something nearly impossible -- their style is clearly within the confines of true black metal, and yet this album sounds like no other band.

Current Members







Former Members/Guests



Ira Aeterna



Ultima Thulée 
  1. The Son Of Hoarfrost
  2. The Plain Of Ida
  3. From Hlidskjalf
  4. My Prayer Beyond Ginnungagap
  5. Till I Perceive Bifrost
  6. On The Way To Vigrid
  7. Rigsthula
  8. The Last Journey Of Ringhorn
  • Vindsval
  • Ögat

Memoria Vetusta 1: Fathers Of The Icy Age 
  1. Slaughterday (the Heathen Blood Of Ours)
  2. On The Path Of Wolf... Towards Dwarfhill
  3. Sons Of Wisdom, Master Of Elements
  4. The Forsaken Voices Of The Gosthwood"s Shadowy Realm
  5. The Territory Of Witches / Guardians Of The Dark Lake
  6. Day Of Revenge (the Impure Blood Of Theirs)
  7. Father Of The Icy Age
  • Vindsval
  • Ira Aeterna

The Mystical Beast Of Rebellion 
2002 Adipocere
  1. The Fall Chapter I
  2. The Fall Chapter II
  3. The Fall Chapter III
  4. The Fall Chapter IV
  5. The Fall Chapter V
  6. The Fall Chapter VI
  • Vindsval
  • GhÖst
  • W.d.Feld

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Teeth Of The Divine 

The Work Which Transforms God 
2003 Adipocere
  1. End
  2. The Choir Of The Dead
  3. Axis
  4. The Fall
  5. Metamorphosis
  6. The Supreme Abstract
  7. Our Blessed Frozen Cells
  8. Devilish Essence
  9. The Howling Of God
  10. Inner Mental Cage
  11. Density
  12. Procession Of The Dead Clowns
  • Vindsval
  • GhÖst
  • W.d.Feld

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

(EP)Thematic Emanation Of Archetypal Multiplicity 
  1. Enter (the Transformed God Basement)
  2. Level-1 (nothing Is)
  3. Level-2 (nothing Is Not)
  4. Level-3 (nothing Becomes)
  5. Exit (towards The Asylum)
  • Vindsval
  • GhÖst
  • W.d.Feld

2006 Candlelight
  1. Chapter I
  2. Chapter II
  3. Chapter III
  4. Chapter IV
  5. Chapter V
  6. Chapter VI
  7. Chapter VII
  8. Chapter VIII
  • Vindsval
  • GhÖst
  • W.d.Feld

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

2007 Candlelight
  1. Intro
  2. An Element Of Flesh
  3. The Sounds Of The Universe
  4. Odinist
  5. A Few Shreds Of Thoughts
  6. Ellipsis
  7. Mystic Absolu
  8. The Cycle Of The Cycles
  9. Outro
  • Vindsval
  • GhÖst
  • W.d.Feld

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue With The Stars 
2009 Candlelight
  1. Acceptance (Aske)
  2. Disciple’s Libration (Lost in the Nine Worlds)
  3. The Cosmic Echoes of Non-Matter (Immaterial Voices of the Fathers)
  4. Translucent Body of Air (Sutta Anapanasati)
  5. Antithesis of the Flesh (...and Then Arises a New Essence)
  6. ...the Meditant (Dialogue With the Stars)
  7. The Alcove of Angels (Vipassana)
  8. The Formless Sphere (Beyond the Reason)
  9. Elevation
  • Vindsval
  • GhÖst
  • W.d.Feld

Reviews:   Metal Underground  Metal Observer 

What Once Was ... Liber 1 
  1. Liber 1

777 - Sect(s) 
2011 Debemur Morti
  1. Epitome 1
  2. Epitome 2
  3. Epitome 3
  4. Epitome 4
  5. Epitome 5
  6. Epitome 6

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Teeth Of The Divine 

777 - The Desanctification 
2011 Debemur Morti
  1. Epitome VII
  2. Epitome VIII
  3. Epitome IX
  4. Epitome X
  5. Epitome XI
  6. Epitome XII
  7. Epitome XIII

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Sputnik Music 

(EP) What Once Was ... Liber II 
2012 Debemur Morti
  1. I
  2. II

777 - Cosmosophy 
2012 Debemur Morti
  1. Epitome XIV
  2. Epitome XV
  3. Epitome XVI
  4. Epitome XVII
  5. Epitome XVIII

What Once Was ... Liber III 
2013 Debemur Morti
  1. I
  2. II
  3. III
  4. IV
  5. V
  6. VI

(EP) Debermur MoRTi 
2014 Debemur Morti
  1. Tetraktys
  2. Lighteater
  3. Bastardiser (Pitchshifter cover)

Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry 
2014 Debemur Morti
  1. Prelude
  2. Paien
  3. Tellus Mater
  4. Forhist
  5. Henosis
  6. Metaphor of the Moon
  7. Clarissima Mundi Lumina

Reviews:   Metal Observer  Sputnik Music 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!