Origin: Finland
Genres: Doom Metal
official site

Black Sun Aeon  

This is solo project number three for Finnish workaholic Tuomas Saukkonen, who already has two not-that-dissimilar projects going in Before The Dawn and Dawn Of Solace, though whether all three are active at any given time isn't quite clear. He's pretty prolific, managing an album a year bouncing from one project to another. Black Sun Aeon, like his other two bands, is vaguely rooted in the gothic/doom/depressive metal mold, and like Dawn Of Solace, Saukkonen handles all of the music as well as at least some of the vocals. This is less gothic metal and more of a doom/death hybrid (Saukkonen supplies harsh vocals while guests provide clean singing), though this is not doomdeath in the traditional sense. The mood here is somber, meandering, and depressive, but not dreary or heavy-handed. This might be Saukkonen's most developed project yet.

Current Members

Tuomas Saukkonen

vocals/all instruments (ex-Before The Dawn, ex-Dawn Of Solace)

Former Members/Guests

Mikko Heikkilä (guest)


Janica Lönn (guest)



Darkness Walks Besides Me 
2009 Cyclone Empire
  1. Chapter 1: A Song for the Introduction
  2. Chapter 2: A Song for My Wrath
  3. Chapter 3: A Song for My Demise
  4. Chapter 4: A Song for My Sorrow
  5. Chapter 5: A Song for My Weakness
  6. Chapter 6: A Song for This Winter
  7. Chapter 7: A Song for My Illness
  8. Chapter 8: A Song for My Funeral
  9. Chapter 9: A Song for the One Who Passed Away 2008
  • Tuomas Saukkonen
  • Mikko Heikkilä

2010 Cyclone Empire
  1. Core of Winter
  2. Frozen
  3. Sorrowsong
  4. Routa
  5. Wreath of Ice
  6. Dead Sun Aeon
  7. Cold
  8. Funeral of World
  9. River
  10. Frozen Kingdom
  11. Wanderer
  12. The Beast
  13. Silence
  14. Apocalyptic Reveries
  • Tuomas Saukkonen
  • Mikko Heikkilä
  • Janica Lönn

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal  Angry Metal Guy 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!