Origin: New York, NY, USA
Genres: Black Metal
official site

Black Anvil  

Black Anvil is a black metal band from New York, consisting of three guys who also play in the hardcore band Kill Your Idols, as well as other NYHC bands. This gives some the excuse to claim that Black Anvil isn't true black metal, which is short-sighted at best. Anyway, the trio debuted in 2008 with Time Insults The Mind, and even if this isn't their prime musical outlet, it's still pretty decent black metal, borrowing liberally from the Norse scene without cloning it. It's not all cold and frost, though -- "Release The Kraken" is more classic thrash, "L.T.H.L.T.K" is straight-up death'n'roll, perhaps betraying a bit of their hardcore roots, and there are noticeable Celtic Frost influences throughout (beyond just their decent cover of "Dethroned Emperor"). Relapse Records has signed these guys, re-released the album, and a newer album is on the way.

Current Members

Paul Delaney


Raeph Glicken


Gary Bennett



Time Insults The Mind 
2008 Monumentum
  1. Margin For Terror
  2. Ten Talons Deep
  3. Deathsomnia
  4. On This Day Death
  5. Release The Kraken
  6. And You Thought You Knew Pain!
  7. 777
  8. L.T.H.L.T.K.
  9. Dethroned Emperor
  • Paul Delaney
  • Raeph Glicken
  • Gary Bennett

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

2010 Relapse
  1. What Is Life If Not Now!
  2. Crippling
  3. The Evil Of All Roots
  4. Ultimate Reality
  5. Angels To Dust
  6. We Own You
  7. Scalping
  8. Eliminate
  9. Dead And Left
  10. With Transparent Blood
  11. Veadtuck
  • Paul Delaney
  • Raeph Glicken
  • Gary Bennett

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!