Origin: Austria
Genres: Black Metal
official site


Dornenreich is one of the better bands emanating from the Austrian black metal scene, which has also produced groups such as Summoning and Abigor, the latter of whom is sometimes compared to this band. Until recently the core of the band has been two guys both with the last name Stock (though not related), though Thomas Stock recently left the band, leaving Jochen behind to carry on. Reviewed here are two albums, their third (2001's Her Von Welken Nachten) and fifth (Durch Den Traum, released in 2006). Of these, Welken is clearly the more traditional, as well as the more upbeat, more aligned with the classic black metal of bands like Abigor. On the other hand, Durch Den Traum is best described as a sort of laidback, relaxed post-black album, not so much in an ambient sense (though there is a bit of that), but rather that the songs sort of meander along, with both traditional black and acoustic guitars strumming repetitively, and vocals ranging from some old-style shrieks to more distant chants and whispers. It's clearly a bit different from the norm in black metal, yet it retains just enough of the older elements to fit as a logical progression from a band who increasingly is finding its own path.

Current Members

Eviga (Jochen Stock)


Inve (Thomas Riesner)


Former Members/Guests

Valñes (Thomas Stock)


Gilván (Moritz Neuner)

drums/folk instruments (Abigor, Darkwell, Enid, Evenfall, Golden Dawn, Korova, Korovakill, Leaves' Eyes)

Michael Stein (guest)



Nicht Um Zu Sterben 
1997 CCP
  1. Hasses Freigang
  2. In Die Nacht
  3. Verlorenes Gefunden, Gefundenes Empfunden
  4. Schlaflos Träumend
  5. Im Flatternden Schleier Der Vergänglichkeit
  6. Und Wie Ein Kind In Deiner Hand
  7. Durch Die Schluchten Der Kälte
  8. Hofesfest
  • Eviga
  • Valñes
  • Gilván

Bitter Ist's Dem Tod Zu Dienen 
1999 CCP
  1. Nächtlich Liebend
  2. Wundenküssen
  3. Reime Faucht Der Märchensarg
  4. Federstrich In Grabesnähe
  5. Leben lechzend Herzgeflüster (Eines Gedanken karge Silbensaat)
  6. Woran Erkennt Mich Deine Sehnsucht Morgen?
  • Eviga
  • Valñes
  • Gilván

Her Von Welken Nächten 
2001 Prophecy
  1. Eigenwach
  2. Ich Bin Aus Mir
  3. Wer Hat Angst Vor Einsamkeit?
  4. Grell Und Dunkel Strömt Das Leben
  5. Innerwille Ist Mein Docht
  6. Hier Weht Ein Moment
  7. Schwarz Schaut Tiefsten Lichterglanz
  8. Trauerbrandung
  9. Mein Publikum - Der Augenblick
  • Eviga
  • Valñes
  • Gilván

Reviews:   Metal Observer 

2005 Prophecy
  1. Von Der Quelle
  2. Der Hexe Flammend' Blick
  3. Der Hexe Nächtlich' Ritt
  4. Aus Längst Verhalltem Lied
  5. Zu Träumen Wecke Sich, Wer Kann
  • Eviga
  • Valñes
  • Michael Stein

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

Durch Den Traum 
2006 Prophecy
  1. I
  2. II
  3. III
  4. IV
  5. V
  6. VI
  7. VII
  8. VIII
  9. Ich Bin Ein Stern (digipack bonus) ()
  • Eviga
  • Valñes
  • Michael Stein

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

In Luft Geritzt 
2008 Prophecy
  1. Drang
  2. Unruhe
  3. Jagd
  4. Freitanz
  5. Sehnlauf
  6. Flügel in Fels
  7. Meer
  8. Aufbruch
  9. Dem Wind Geboren
  10. Zauberzeichen
  • Eviga
  • Inve

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal 

Nachtreisen  LIVE
2009 Prophecy
  1. Intro
  2. Trauerbrandung
  3. Eigenwach
  4. Ich Bin Aus Mir
  5. Wer hat Angst vor Einsamkeit?
  6. Grell und dunkel strömt das Leben
  7. Schwarz schaut tiefsten Lichterglanz
  8. Trauerbrandung (encore)
  9. Intro
  10. Flügel in Fels
  11. Der Hexe nächtlich' Ritt
  12. Aufbruch
  13. Innerwille ist mein Docht
  14. Meer
  15. Mein Publikum – Der Augenblick
  16. Drang
  17. Der Hexe flammend' Blick
  18. Bonus Track

2009 Prophecy

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

2011 Prophecy

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal 

2014 Prophecy


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!