Origin: Canada
Genres: Death Metal
official site

Despised Icon  

Despised Icon hails from an area already rich with technical death metal bands, that being the Quebec region of Canada. They debuted in 2002 with Consumed By Your Poison, and have since followed that with The Healing Process in 2005, with former drummer Alex Erian (also once a member of another Canadian death band, Neuraxis) deciding to take on the role of co-lead vocalist. The Healing Process is a blistering melding of a death metal base with clear grindcore and hardcore influences (hence the oft-used term "deathcore" in describing their style), with the alternating low growls/high shriek vocal style favored by grindcore bands as well as the typical manic songwriting style of constant riff changes. They announced their intent to disband in April 2010 though apparently tours are in the works for most of the year.

Current Members

Steve Marois


Alex Erian

vocals (ex-Neuraxis)

Ben Landreville


Éric Jarrin


Max Lavelle

bass (Black Dahlia Murder)

Alex Pelletier


Former Members/Guests

Marie-Helene Landry


Yannic St-Amand


Sebastien Piché



Consumed By Your Poison 
2002 Galy
  1. Compel To Copulate
  2. Poissonnariat
  3. Grade A-One
  4. Le Chêne Et Le Roseau
  5. Dead King
  6. Absolu
  7. Fashionable
  8. Interfere In Your Days
  9. Chef De Voûte
  10. Despise The Icons
  • Marie-Helene Landry
  • Steve Marois
  • Alex Erian
  • Yannic St-Amand
  • Éric Jarrin
  • Sebastien Piché

Reviews:   Metal Observer 

The Healing Process 
2005 Century Media
  1. Bulletproof Scales
  2. Silver Plated Advocate
  3. Immaculate
  4. Warm Blooded
  5. Retina
  6. The Sunset Will Never Charm Us
  7. As Bridges Burn
  8. Havesting The Deceased
  9. End This Day
  • Steve Marois
  • Alex Erian
  • Yannic St-Amand
  • Éric Jarrin
  • Sebastien Piché
  • Alex Pelletier

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

The Ills Of Modern Man 
2007 Century Media
  1. In the Arms of Perdition
  2. Furtive Monologue
  3. Quarantine
  4. The Ills of Modern Man
  5. A Fractured Hand
  6. Sheltered Reminiscence
  7. Nameless
  8. Tears of the Blameless
  9. Oval Shaped Incisions
  10. Fainted Blue Ornaments

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

Montreal Assault 
2009 Century Media

Day Of Mourning 
2009 Century Media
  1. Les Temps Changent
  2. Day of Mourning
  3. MVP
  4. All for Nothing
  5. Eulogy
  6. Made of Glass
  7. Black Lungs
  8. Diva of Disgust
  9. Entre Le Bien Et Le Mal
  10. Sleepless
  • Steve Marois
  • Alex Erian
  • Ben Landreville
  • Éric Jarrin
  • Max Lavelle
  • Alex Pelletier

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!