Origin: Sweden
Genres: Hard Rock, Progressive Metal
official site

Freak Kitchen  

This is one band who got their name right, as their very distinctive style almost defies comparison. Basically, the band plays upbeat, technically minded hard rock/metal (progressive hard rock?), with frequent vocal harmonies and a flair for offbeat lyrics (as evidenced by their song titles). For some reason, bands such as Atomic Opera, or perhaps a hyperactive version of King's X, come to mind, but this is really a band in a field of their own. Much of the credit goes to the intricate, very distinctive guitar playing of mainman Mattias Eklundh, with flashy yet tasteful solos and an interesting riffing style. Their quirky style may not be for everyone, but they deserve a listen, as they truly are a unique entity in hard music.

Current Members

Mattias Eklundh


Christer Örtefors


Björn Fryklund


Former Members/Guests

Christian Grönlund


Joakim Sjöberg



  1. Blind
  2. Appetiser
  3. Lie Freedom
  4. Hollow
  5. See You In Pittsburgh
  6. Paperdance
  7. Raw
  8. Some Kind Of Lovesong
  9. Are You For Real
  10. The Healthy Man
  11. What's The Problem
  12. The New Part
  • Mattias Eklundh
  • Christian Grönlund
  • Joakim Sjöberg

Spanking Hour 
  1. Walls Of Stupidity
  2. Haw Haw Haw
  3. Jerk
  4. Taste My Fist
  5. Burnin' Bridges
  6. Inner Revolution
  7. Lisa
  8. Spanking Hour
  9. Proud To Be Plastic
  10. Dystopia
  11. The Bitter Season
  • Mattias Eklundh
  • Christian Grönlund
  • Joakim Sjöberg

Freak Kitchen 
  • Mattias Eklundh
  • Christian Grönlund
  • Joakim Sjöberg

Dead Soul Men 
  1. Silence!
  2. Gun God
  3. Ugly Side of Me
  4. Everything Is Under Control
  5. Get a Life
  6. Sinking Planet
  7. Dead Soul Man
  8. Refuse
  9. Black Spider Flag
  10. Super Model Baby
  11. Slap Me in the Face
  12. Shithead
  • Mattias Eklundh
  • Christian Grönlund
  • Joakim Sjöberg

  1. Propaganda Pie
  2. Nobody's Laughing
  3. Snap
  4. Humiliation Song
  5. Razor Flowers
  6. Heroin Breakfast
  7. Porno Daddy
  8. Seven Days In June
  9. Maggots Of Corruption
  10. Hateful Little People
  11. Logo
  12. The Wrong Year
  • Mattias Eklundh
  • Christer Örtefors
  • Björn Fryklund

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

  1. Speak When Spoken To
  2. The Rights to You
  3. Look Bored
  4. Chest Pain Waltz
  5. Mussolini Mind
  6. Guilt Trip
  7. Becky
  8. Independent Way of Life
  9. Heal Me
  10. Infidelity Ghost
  11. Sob Story
  12. Breathe
  • Mattias Eklundh
  • Christer Örtefors
  • Björn Fryklund

Land Of The Freaks 
  1. God Save the Spleen
  2. Hip Hip Hoorah
  3. Teargas Jazz
  4. Sick? (Death by Hypochondria)
  5. OK
  6. Honey, You’re a Nazi
  7. The Only Way
  8. Murder Groupie
  9. The Smell of Time
  10. One Last Dance
  11. Do Not Disturb
  12. Clean it Up
  • Mattias Eklundh
  • Christer Örtefors
  • Björn Fryklund

Cooking With Pagans 
2014 Laser's Edge
  1. Professional Help
  2. Freak of the Week
  3. Sloppy
  4. Goody Goody
  5. (Saving Up for an) Anal Bleach
  6. Private Property
  7. Mathematics of Defeat
  8. I Don't Want to Golf
  9. Hide
  10. Come Back to Comeback
  11. Ranks of the Terrified
  12. Once Upon a Time in Scandinavistan
  • Mattias Eklundh
  • Christer Örtefors
  • Björn Fryklund


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!