Origin: France
Genres: Black Metal
official site YouTube


A self-described French pagan metal act, Himinbjorg has forged a decent career since their inception in 1996. Their style retains much of the classic old-school Norwegian black metal style (the keyboardless, non-symphonic brand), but with a keen sense of melody and the well-placed clean vocal gives them a fairly unique style within the genre, especially the odder songs such as "Death Of A King" off their Golden Age album. There's plenty of traditional black metal riffing to keep that crowd happy, while at the same time just enough originality to place them apart from the pack. An interesting band.

Current Members





Former Members/Guests

Mathrien D.









drums (ex-Rumble Militia)


Where Ravens Fly 
1998 Red Stream
  1. Lightning Of Blood
  2. Conqueror
  3. In The Haze Of The Summer Solstice's Fires
  4. Journey Through The Nine Worlds
  5. Nidhöggr
  6. Where Ravens Fly
  • Zahaah
  • Mathrien D.
  • Elvan

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 

In The Raven's Shadow 
2000 Red Stream
  1. Guided By The Stars
  2. Thiazi's Øyne
  3. The Inverted Dimension
  4. In The Raven's Shadow
  5. In The Forest Of The Demons From Within
  6. Rising
  7. Dreamwalker
  8. The Voice Of Blood
  9. Valaskjàslf
  • Zahaah
  • Mathrien D.
  • Elvan

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 

(MCD) Third 
2001 Red Stream
  1. The Lading Whispers
  2. The Great Time With The Grass (Part.1)
  3. The Great Time With The Grass (Part.2)
  4. Under The Spell Of The Grass
  5. The Moment
  6. An Ode To The Older
  • Zahaah
  • Mathrien D.
  • Nihasam
  • Michael

Haunted Shores 
2002 Red Stream
  1. The Olves
  2. War
  3. The Haunted Shores
  4. Of Desire And Lust
  5. The Eternal
  6. Lonely
  7. The Voices Of Revenge
  • Zahaah
  • Mathrien D.
  • Nihasam
  • Michael

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

Golden Age 
2003 Adipocere
  1. The Opening
  2. Death Of A King
  3. The Galleries Of Time
  4. (untitled)
  5. What Was ...
  6. ... And To Fight Forever ...
  7. Him
  8. Intro
  9. Entering Odin's Huge Palace
  10. It Was In Europe
  11. Untitled
  12. The Inner Mirror
  13. The Law Of The Worship
  14. Yon
  15. The Alienated
  16. Like A Shadow
  17. Untitled
  18. Daily Desillusions
  19. Untitled
  20. Les Strates
  21. Last Day In Alesia
  • Zahaah
  • Mathrien D.
  • Anton
  • Kahos

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

2005 Adipocere
  1. Intro
  2. Entering Odin's Huge Palace
  3. It was in Europe
  4. Untitled
  5. The Inner Mirror
  6. The Law of the Worship
  7. Yon
  8. The Alienated
  9. Like A Shadow
  10. Untitled
  11. Daily Desillusions
  12. Untitled
  13. Les Strates
  14. Last Day in Alesia [view lyrics

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal 

Chants D'Hier Chants De Guerre Chants De La Terre 
  1. Convictions
  2. Songe de l'Elfe
  3. Black
  4. Grandes Chevauchees
  5. Destin de Sang
  6. Futhark
  7. Chant de la Lune
  8. Contre Vents et Marees
  9. Lonely
  10. Chant pour les Ancetres
  • Zahaah
  • Mathrien D.

  1. Call to the Being
  2. The Sword of Destiny
  3. The World of Men Without Virtue
  4. The Circles Warriors
  5. Initiation
  6. The Mirror of Suffuring
  7. The Shamanic Whisper
  8. The Eternal Light
  9. Another Shores
  • Zahaah
  • Kahos


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!