Origin: Kokkola, Finland
Genres: Christian Metal, Melodic Death Metal
official site

Immortal Souls  

A band apparently obsessed with all things wintry (their official website and MySpace pages are known as "snowpage" and "icespace" respectively -- very amusing), the Finnish-born Immortal Souls have been plying their trade since the early nineties (hailing from Finland, then, the winter fixation maybe isn't so suprising). Wintereich is their third full-length album, released in 2007, and it's a potent, if not terribly ambitious, slice of prime European melodic death metal, mixing the usual influences including fellow Finns Children Of Bodom with their own unique touch. Overall, this isn't the most original sound of all time, but the pieces are all there, from a strong production to plenty of cutting riffs to strong death/black vocals. Even with the crowded scene that is melodic death metal, Immortal Souls have enough to garner a recommendation for the genre.

Current Members

Aki Särkioja


Esa Särkioja


Pete Loisa


Juha Kronqvist


Former Members/Guests

Jupe Hakola



(EP) Divine Wintertime 
  1. Snow Soul
  2. Divine Wintertime
  3. Morning Mist
  4. Christ Mass
  • Aki Särkioja
  • Esa Särkioja
  • Jupe Hakola

(EP) The Cleansing 
  1. The Cleansing
  2. Until
  3. The Prophet
  4. Icebound
  • Aki Särkioja
  • Esa Särkioja
  • Pete Loisa
  • Jupe Hakola

Under The Northern Sky 
  1. Frostmind
  2. The Cleansing
  3. The Cold Northwind
  4. Blue Flamed Fire
  5. Snowfalls
  6. Dark Night Under the Northern Sky
  7. Love Demise
  8. Metsäkukkia
  9. Winterheart
  10. Painthings
  • Aki Särkioja
  • Esa Särkioja
  • Pete Loisa
  • Jupe Hakola

Ice Upon The Night 
2003 Fear Dark
  1. Everwinter
  2. Welcome to North
  3. Sacrifice
  4. Painbearer
  5. Edge of the Frost
  6. Coldstreets
  7. You
  8. Suicidalive
  9. Man of Sorrow
  • Aki Särkioja
  • Esa Särkioja
  • Pete Loisa
  • Jupe Hakola

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

Once Upon A Time In The North  COMPILATION
2005 Fear Dark
  1. Painwaighted
  2. Down in my Grave
  3. The Cleansing
  4. Until
  5. Prophet
  6. Icebound
  7. Snow soul
  8. Divine Wintertime
  9. Morning Mist
  10. Christ Mass
  11. Hate Sender
  12. I am Me
  13. Realm of Hatred
  14. Immortal
  15. Frostmind
  16. The Cleansing
  17. The Cold Northwind
  18. Blue Flamed Fire
  19. Snowfalls
  20. Dark Night
  21. Love Demise
  22. Metsäkukkia
  23. Winterheart
  24. Painthings

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

2007 Dark Balance
  1. Nightfrost
  2. Feareaper
  3. Frozen Inside
  4. Icon of Ice
  5. Color of My Sky
  6. Constant
  7. Idlestate
  8. Heart of Cold
  9. Winter of My Discontent
  10. Black Water
  11. Winterreich
  • Aki Särkioja
  • Esa Särkioja
  • Pete Loisa
  • Juha Kronqvist

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

IV: The Requiem For The Art Of Death 
2011 Dark Balance
  1. Art of Death Act I: Soulbells
  2. Evil Believer
  3. Nuclear Winter
  4. I Wept
  5. Absolution
  6. Art of Death Act II: The Last Journey
  7. Reek of Rotting Rye
  8. Last Day on Earth
  9. Hypnotic Atrocity
  10. Thought of Desolation
  11. One Last Withering Rose
  12. Art of Death Act III: The Requiem of the Funeral Eve


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!