Origin: Finland
Genres: Melodic Death Metal
official site Facebook

Mors Principium Est  

There are certainly no shortage of melodic death metal bands out there, though Finland has produced fewer than other countries (such as, obviously, Sweden). Mors Principium Est came together in 1999 and have released two albums, with the 2003 debut Inhumanity reviewed here. The band has been compared to fellow Finns such as Omnium Gatherum and Children Of Bodom, both valid reference points though MPE is at least trying not to clone the melodic death genre. Keyboards are using sparingly but effectively, giving the group a slightly darker tone to blend with the speedy riffing and typically harsh vocals. As with many bands, they are neither blatant copyists nor blindingly original, relegating them (for now) to up-and-coming status.

Current Members

Ville Viljanen


Andy Gillion


Teemu Heinola

bass (ex-Depressed Mode)

Mikko Sipola


Former Members/Guests

Jori Haukio

guitars (ex-Depressed Mode)

Karri Kuisma


Jarkko Kokko


Andhe Chandler


Kevin Verlay

guitars (Agressor)

Toni Nummelin


Joona Kukkola



2003 Listenable
  1. Another Creation
  2. Eternity's Child
  3. In My Words
  4. Inhumanity
  5. D.I.B.
  6. The Lust Called Knowledge
  7. Oblivion
  8. Life in Black
  9. Last Apprentice
  10. Into Illusion
  11. Hijo de la Luna (japanese bonus)
  • Ville Viljanen
  • Jori Haukio
  • Jarkko Kokko
  • Teemu Heinola
  • Toni Nummelin
  • Mikko Sipola

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal  Brave Words  Sputnik Music  Metal Storm 

The Unborn 
2005 Listenable
  1. Pure
  2. The Harmony Remains
  3. Parasites of Paradise
  4. Two Steps Away
  5. Altered State of Consciousness
  6. Spirit-Conception
  7. The Unborn
  8. Fragile Flesh
  9. Pressure
  10. The Glass Womb
  11. Blood of Heroes (digipack bonus)
  12. No More (digipack bonus)
  • Ville Viljanen
  • Jori Haukio
  • Jarkko Kokko
  • Teemu Heinola
  • Joona Kukkola
  • Mikko Sipola

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Sputnik Music  Metal Storm 

Liberation = Termination 
2007 Listenable
  1. Orsus
  2. The Oppressed Will Rise
  3. The Animal Within
  4. Finality
  5. Cleansing Rain
  6. Forgotten
  7. Sinners Defeat
  8. The Distance Between
  9. It Is Done
  10. Terminal Liberation
  11. Lost Beyond Retrieval
  • Ville Viljanen
  • Karri Kuisma
  • Jarkko Kokko
  • Teemu Heinola
  • Joona Kukkola
  • Mikko Sipola

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Metal Storm 

... And Death Said Live 
2012 AFM
  1. The Awakening
  2. Departure
  3. I Will Return
  4. Birth of the Starchild
  5. Bringer of Light
  6. Ascension
  7. ...and Death Said Live
  8. Destroyer of All
  9. What the Future Holds?
  10. The Meadows of Asphodel
  11. Dead Winds of Hope
  • Ville Viljanen
  • Andy Gillion
  • Andhe Chandler
  • Teemu Heinola
  • Mikko Sipola

Dawn Of The 5th Era 
2014 AFM
  1. Enter the Asylum
  2. God Has Fallen
  3. Leader of the Titans
  4. We Are the Sleep
  5. Innocence Lost
  6. I Am War
  7. Monster in Me
  8. Apricity
  9. Wrath of Indra
  10. The Journey
  11. The Forsaken
  • Ville Viljanen
  • Andy Gillion
  • Kevin Verlay
  • Teemu Heinola
  • Mikko Sipola

Reviews:   Metal Observer  Angry Metal Guy  Sputnik Music  Metal Storm 

Embers Of A Dying World 
2017 AFM
  1. Genesis
  2. Reclaim the Sun
  3. Masquerade
  4. Into the Dark
  5. The Drowning
  6. Death Is the Beginning
  7. The Ghost
  8. In Torment
  9. Agnus Dei
  10. The Colours of the Cosmos
  11. Apprentice of Death
  • Ville Viljanen
  • Andy Gillion

Reviews:   Metal Storm 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!