Origin: OH, USA
Genres: Death Metal
official site


While many rightfully point to bands such as Possessed and Death as early death metal pioneers, Necrophagia deserves a mention as well. Their debut, 1987's Season Of The Dead, is regarded as a seminal work in the field, deriving from Possessed and early Slayer but with less emphasis on speed, vocals resembling standard death metal, and decided gore/death-themed lyrics. Vocalist Killjoy disbanded the group soon after that debut recorded a solo album, and then in the late nineties put a new Necrophagia back together, including one "Anton Crowley" (it was a poorly kept secret that this was none other than Phil Anselmo of Pantera). More gore/horror-infested than ever, Necrophagia continues to be active, though perhaps with a lower profile than in the past.

Current Members

Killjoy (Frank Pucci)

vocals (ex-The Ravenous, ex-Viking Crown)



Abigail Lee Nero


Damien Matthews


Mirai Kawashima

keyboards (The Meads Of Asphodel, Sigh)

Shawn Slusarek


Former Members/Guests

Larry Madison


Anton Crowley (Phil Anselmo)

guitars (Down, ex-Pantera, Superjoint Ritual, ex-Viking Crown)

Frediablo (Fred Prytz)


Fug (Knut Prytz)


Boris Randall


Undead Torment


Bill James


Dustin Havnen


Jared Faulk


Iscariah (Stian Smorholm)

bass (Dead To This World, ex-Immortal)

Opal Enthroned

keyboards (ex-Viking Crown)

Joe Blazer


Wayne Fabra


Titta Tani



Season Of The Dead 
1987 New Renaissance
  1. Season of the Dead
  2. Forbidden Pleasure
  3. Bleeding Torment
  4. Insane for Blood
  5. Reincarnation
  6. Ancient Slumber
  7. Mental Decay
  8. Abomination
  9. Terminal Vision
  10. Painful Discharge
  11. Beyond and Back
  • Killjoy
  • Larry Madison
  • Bill James
  • Joe Blazer

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility 

Holocausto De La Morte 
1998 Red Stream
  1. Bloodfreak
  2. Embalmed Yet I Breathe
  3. The Cross Burns Black
  4. Deep Inside, I Plant The Devils Seed
  5. Burning Moon Sickness
  6. Cadaverous Screams Of My Deceased Lover
  7. Children Of The Vortex
  8. Hymns Of Divine Genocide
  • Killjoy
  • Anton Crowley
  • Dustin Havnen
  • Wayne Fabra

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 

(EP) Black Blood Vomitorium 
1999 Red Stream
  1. And You Will Live In Terror
  2. They Swell Beneath
  3. It Lives In The Woods
  4. Black Blood Vomitorium
  • Killjoy
  • Anton Crowley
  • Dustin Havnen
  • Wayne Fabra

Legacy Of Gore, Horror And Sickness  COMPILATION
  1. World Funeral
  2. Lust Of The Naked Dead
  3. Hemorage
  4. Ready For Death
  5. Ancient Slumber
  6. Black Apparition
  7. Blood Thirst
  8. Mental Decay
  9. Communion Of Death
  10. Return To Life
  11. Witchcraft
  12. Autopsy Of The Living Dead
  13. Death Is Fun
  14. Communion Of Death
  15. Insane For Blood
  16. Rise From The Crypt
  17. Kill
  18. Chainsaw Lust

Death Is Fun (demos) 
2000 Red Stream
  1. Abomination
  2. Young Burial
  3. Black Apparition
  4. Chainsaw Lust
  5. Intense Mutilation
  6. Autopsy On The Living Dead
  7. Witchcraft
  8. Power Through Darkness
  9. Young Burial (Demo)
  10. Chainsaw Lust (Demo)

(EP) Cannibal Holocaust 
2001 Season Of Mist
  1. Cannibal Holocaust
  2. Burning Moon Sickness
  3. It Lives In The Woods
  4. Baphomet Rises
  5. Chainsaw Lust
  6. Cannibal Holocaust (Video)
  • Killjoy
  • Anton Crowley
  • Frediablo
  • Jared Faulk
  • Opal Enthroned
  • Wayne Fabra

The Divine Art Of Torture 
2003 Season Of Mist
  1. Blaspheme The Body
  2. Upon Frayed Lips Of Silence
  3. Parasite Eve
  4. Maim Attraction
  5. Rue Morgue Disciple
  6. The Sick Room
  7. Conjuring The Unnamable
  8. Flowers Of Flesh And Blood
  9. The Divine Art Of Torture
  10. Ze Do Caixao
  • Killjoy
  • Frediablo
  • Fug
  • Iscariah
  • Mirai Kawashima
  • Titta Tani

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

(EP) Goblins Be Thine 
2004 Red Stream
  1. Young Burial
  2. To Sleep with the Dead
  3. The Fog
  4. Sadako's Curse
  5. Goblins Be Thine
  • Killjoy
  • Frediablo
  • Fug
  • Iscariah
  • Mirai Kawashima
  • Titta Tani

Nightmare Scenarios 
2004 Red Stream

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

Harvest Ritual Volume I 
2005 Season Of Mist
  1. The World, The Flesh, The Devil
  2. Dead Skin Slave
  3. Unearthed
  4. Cadavera X
  5. London 13 Demon Street
  6. Return to Texas
  7. Akumu
  8. Stitch Her Further
  9. Excommunicated
  10. Harvest Ritual
  • Killjoy
  • Frediablo
  • Fug
  • Iscariah
  • Mirai Kawashima
  • Titta Tani

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 

2005 Red Stream

Deathtrip 69 
2011 Red Stream
  1. Requiem for a Black Pope
  2. Upon Frayed Lips of Silence
  3. Blaspheme the Body
  4. Cannibal Holocaust
  5. Parasite Eve
  6. And You Will Live in Terror
  7. Maim Attraction
  8. Flowers of Flesh and Blood
  9. Rue Morgue Disciple
  10. Embalmed Yet I Breathe
  11. The Divine Art of Torture
  12. Z Do Caixo
  13. Young Burial
  • Killjoy
  • Boris Randall
  • Undead Torment
  • Damien Matthews
  • Shawn Slusarek

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

Whiteworm Cathedral 
2014 Season Of Mist
  1. Reborn through Black Mass
  2. ???
  3. Angel Blake
  4. Warlock Messiah
  5. Fear the Priest
  6. Elder Things
  7. Coffins
  8. Hexen Nacht
  9. Rat Witch
  10. March of the Deathcorps(e)
  11. Silentium Vel Mortis
  12. The Dead Among Us
  13. WhiteWorm Cathedral
  • Killjoy
  • Scrimm
  • Abigail Lee Nero
  • Damien Matthews
  • Mirai Kawashima
  • Shawn Slusarek


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!