Origin: Knoxville, TN, USA
Genres: Doom Metal
official site Facebook YouTube

Place Of Skulls  

Some eight years after his quiet departure from the mighty Pentagram, guitarist Victor Griffin emerged in 2002 with a new band, Place Of Skulls, reuniting with bassist Lee Abney, the pair having played together years earlier in Deathrow. Musically, the band delivered solid doom metal as one might expect, while lyrically the band focused on a more spiritual attitude due to Griffin's new beliefs. Soon the band was joined by none other than former The Obsessed guitarist Scott "Wino" Weinrich. Wino appeared on the Skulls' second album, With Vision, but departed to focus on his new band, The Hidden Hand. Later, yet another noted doom personality joined the band some time later, in the person of Revelation guitarist Dennis Cornelius (here playing bass). Following the release of 2010's As A Dog Returns, Griffin rejoined Pentagram for a time, and has more recently formed a new band, In-Graved.

Current Members

Victor Griffin

guitars/vocals (In-Graved, Pentagram)

Lee Abney


Tim Tomaselli

drums (ex-Pentagram)

Former Members/Guests

Scott "Wino" Weinrich

guitars/vocals (ex-The Hidden Hand, The Obsessed, ex-Spirit Caravan, St. Vitus, Wino)

Dennis Cornelius

bass (ex-Oversoul, ex-Revelation, Under The Sun)


2002 Southern Lord
  1. THe Fall
  2. Never Die
  3. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
  4. Feeling Of Dread ...
  5. ...
  6. Love She Gave
  7. Return
  8. Song Of Solomon
  • Victor Griffin
  • Lee Abney
  • Tim Tomaselli

With Vision 
2003 Southern Lord
  1. Last Hit
  2. With Vision
  3. Long Lost Grave
  4. Nothing Changes
  5. Dimensional Sojourn
  6. In Rest
  7. Silver Cord Breaks
  8. Willfully Blind
  9. Dissonant Dissident
  10. The Monster
  11. The Watchers
  12. Lost
  • Victor Griffin
  • Scott "Wino" Weinrich
  • Tim Tomaselli

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Metal Storm 

(EP) Love Through Blood 
2005 Outlaw
  1. Consuming Fire
  2. Cornerstone
  3. Days of Trouble
  4. Blood of Jesus
  • Victor Griffin
  • Lee Abney
  • Tim Tomaselli

The Black Is Never Far 
2006 Exile On Mainstream
  1. Prisoner's Creed
  2. Sense of Divinity
  3. Darkest Hour
  4. Interlude
  5. Apart from me
  6. The Black Is Never Far
  7. We The Unrighteous
  8. Interlude
  9. Masters Of Jest
  10. Interlude
  11. Lookin' For A Reason
  12. Relentless
  13. Changed Heart
  • Victor Griffin
  • Dennis Cornelius
  • Tim Tomaselli

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility 

As A Dog Returns 
2010 Giddy Up!
  1. Timeless Hearts
  2. Breath Of Life
  3. Though He Slay Me
  4. Psalm
  5. Dayspring
  6. The Maker
  7. He's God
  8. Desperation
  9. As A Dog Returns
  • Victor Griffin
  • Lee Abney
  • Tim Tomaselli

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Metal Storm 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!