Origin: New York, NY, USA
Genres: Death Metal
official site


Pyrexia is an extreme death metal band from New York. Comparing the first and third albums, the style on Sermon Of Mockery is a twisted, chaotic form of mid-paced but very low-end, brutal death metal, with appropriate cookie-monster vocals from then-singer Darryl Wagner, while System Of The Animal is a bit faster, with vocals now somewhat hardcore-ish in style.

In 2001, the entire then-current lineup teamed up with ex-Obituary guitarist Trevor Peres to form Catastrophic. After an album was recorded, Chris Basile left that band (the others stayed) and recruited an all-new Pyrexia lineup, which has since released two more albums.

Current Members

Eric Shute


Chris Basile

guitars (ex-Catastrophic)

Doug Bohn

drums (ex-Suffocation)

Former Members/Guests

Darryl Wagner


Keith DeVito

vocals (Catastrophic, Internal Bleeding)

Guy Marchais

guitars (ex-Internal Bleeding, Suffocation)

Tony Caravalla


Lee Cuzins


Ryan Harrison


Brian Hobbie

bass (Catastrophic, ex-Internal Bleeding)

Chris Lytle

bass (Insatanity)

Mike Andreiko


Rob Maresca

drums (Catastrophic)

Justin DiPinto

drums (Malevolent Creation)


Sermon Of Mockery 
1993 Drowned
  1. Sermon of Mockery
  2. Resurrection
  3. Abominat
  4. The Uncreation
  5. God
  6. Demigod
  7. Inhumanity
  8. Liturgy of Impurity
  • Darryl Wagner
  • Guy Marchais
  • Tony Caravalla
  • Chris Basile
  • Mike Andreiko

1995 ?
  1. Hatredangeranddisgust
  2. Bludgeoned by deformity
  3. The enshrined
  • Keith DeVito
  • Guy Marchais
  • Tony Caravalla
  • Chris Basile
  • Mike Andreiko

System Of The Animal 
1997 Serious
  1. Confrontation
  2. Downsized
  3. System Of The Animal
  4. Closure
  5. Purging The Nemesis
  6. Day One
  7. Unscathed
  8. G.F.Y.S.
  • Keith DeVito
  • Chris Basile
  • Ryan Harrison
  • Rob Maresca

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 

Cruelty Beyond Submission 
2004 Crash Music
  1. Life Long Hate
  2. Ode To Brinn
  3. No Apologies
  4. Confrontation
  5. Closure
  6. System Of The Animal
  7. Hatred Anger And Disgust
  8. Bludgeoned By Deformity
  9. Inhumanity
  10. Resurrection
  11. Sermon Of Mockery
  • Eric Shute
  • Chris Basile
  • Lee Cuzins
  • Chris Lytle
  • Justin DiPinto

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

Age Of The Wicked 
2007 Unique Leader
  1. The Wicked Rise
  2. Prey The Weak
  3. ITMP
  4. Irony
  5. Shackles Of The Mind
  6. Season Of Anguish
  7. Song Of Hate
  8. Life Long Hate
  9. Ode To Brinn
  10. No Apologies
  • Eric Shute
  • Chris Basile
  • Lee Cuzins
  • Chris Lytle
  • Justin DiPinto

Feast Of Iniquity 
2013 Unique Leader
  1. The Pendulum
  2. Infliction
  3. Death Wish
  4. Cocoon of Shame
  5. Cryptic Summoning
  6. Thy Minion
  7. Wheel of Impunity
  8. Panzer Tank Lobotomy
  9. Born of a Jackal
  10. The Feast
  • Eric Shute
  • Chris Basile
  • Doug Bohn


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!