Origin: Corby, England
Genres: Sludge Metal
official site

Raging Speedhorn  

Raging Speedhorn hail from the famous vacation hotspot known as Corby, England (that's sarcasm -- as practically every other reviewer of this band makes pains to mention, Corby is actually a decaying former steel town, and apparently one awful place to live and/or grow up in). Being from such a grim place, their musical style is perhaps not too surprising, featuring ultra-heavy riffing, usually at Sabbath-dirge speed, with two different lead vocalists trading hardcore screaming (they are hard to tell apart, thus somewhat diminishing the novelty of two separate lead singers). Their general mood places them in the same league as bands such as Eyehategod or perhaps Iron Monkey, with the occasional sonic roar of an early Neurosis. They rarely approach anything really upbeat, though at least one song ("Chronic Youth", off the second album) would fit perfectly on a Motorhead album were it not for the incessant screaming vocals. This band simply oozes anger and despair, again befitting their background. At times it can be a little much to take, but in general this is a hard hitting band, the kind of band that grabs you by the throat and refuses to let go.

Current Members

John Loughlin


Frank Regan

vocals (Viking Skull)

Jaye Thompson


Jim Palmer


Dave Thompson


Gordon Morison


Former Members/Guests

Bloody Kev


Gareth Smith


Tony Loughlin


Darren Smith

bass (ex-Viking Skull)


Raging Speedhorn 
2000 ZZT
  1. Superscud
  2. Redweed
  3. Knives And Faces
  4. Mandan
  5. Random Acts Of Violence
  6. Thumper
  7. Necrophiliac Glue Sniffer
  8. Dungeon Whippet
  9. Death Row Dogs
  10. High Whore
  • John Loughlin
  • Frank Regan
  • Gareth Smith
  • Tony Loughlin
  • Darren Smith
  • Gordon Morison

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal 

We Will Be Dead Tomorrow 
2002 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. The Hate Song
  2. Scrapin' The Resin
  3. Me And Your Man
  4. Scaramanga
  5. Chronic Youth
  6. Iron Cobra
  7. Heartbreaker
  8. Fuck The Voodooman
  9. Spitting Blood
  10. Welcome The Shitsville
  11. Ride With The Devil
  • John Loughlin
  • Frank Regan
  • Gareth Smith
  • Tony Loughlin
  • Darren Smith
  • Gordon Morison

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

How The Great Have Fallen 
2005 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. A Different Shade Of Shit
  2. Oh How The Great Have Fallen
  3. Dead Man Walking
  4. Master Of Disaster
  5. Snatching Defeat From The Jaws Of Victory
  6. How Much Can A Man Take
  7. Fuck You Pay Me
  8. Slay The Coward
  9. The Infidel Is Dead
  10. Don’t Let The Bastards Grind You Down
  • John Loughlin
  • Frank Regan
  • Gareth Smith
  • Jaye Thompson
  • Darren Smith
  • Gordon Morison

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal 

Before The Sea Was Built 
2007 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. Everything Changes
  2. Before The Sea Was Built
  3. Dignity Stripper
  4. Mishima
  5. The Last Comet From Nothingness
  6. Born To Twist The Knife
  7. Who Will Guard The Guards
  8. Too Drunk To Give A Fuck
  9. Sound Of Waves
  10. Jump Ship
  • John Loughlin
  • Bloody Kev
  • Gareth Smith
  • Jaye Thompson
  • Dave Thompson
  • Gordon Morison

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Storm 

Lost Ritual 
  1. Bring Out Your Dead
  2. Halfway To Hell
  3. Motörhead
  4. Evil Or Mental
  5. Ten Of Swords
  6. Dogshit Blues
  7. Hangman
  8. Shit Outta Luck
  9. Coming Home
  10. Unleash The Serpent
  • John Loughlin
  • Frank Regan
  • Jaye Thompson
  • Jim Palmer
  • Dave Thompson
  • Gordon Morison

Reviews:   Teeth Of The Divine 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!