Origin: Seattle, WA, USA
Genres: Traditional Metal


Though best known as the precursor to Nevermore, Sanctuary had a nice run in the late eighties, albeit a short one. They gained notoriety by having Dave Mustaine produce their debut album (apparently the band met Dave backstage and simply handed them a demo, and Dave decided to produce their album) and the band's intricate, classy power metal, highlighted by Warrel Dane's outstanding vocals, was a breath of fresh air in the metal field. The inevitable personal differences between some members led to their breakup after two albums, prompting Dane and bassist Jim Sheppard to move on to the greener pastures of Nevermore, where they prospered for several years.

Dane and Sheppard reuinited with several of the old Sanctuary guys in 2010 and soon commenced work on a new album, The Year The Sun Died, which was released in late 2014.

Current Members

Warrel Dane

vocals (Nevermore)

Lenny Rutledge


Attila Vörös


Jim Sheppard

bass (Nevermore)

Dave Budbill


Former Members/Guests

Sean Blosl


Brad Hull

guitars (ex-Forced Entry)


Refuge Denied 
1987 CBS
  1. Battle Angels
  2. Termination Force
  3. Die For My Sins
  4. Soldiers of Steel
  5. Sanctuary
  6. White Rabbit
  7. Ascension to Destiny
  8. The Third War
  9. Veil of Disguise
  • Warrel Dane
  • Lenny Rutledge
  • Sean Blosl
  • Jim Sheppard
  • Dave Budbill

Into The Mirror Black 
1990 CBS
  1. Future Tense
  2. Taste Revenge
  3. Long Since Dark
  4. Epitaph
  5. Eden Lies Obscured
  6. The Mirror Black
  7. Seasons of Destruction
  8. One More Murder
  9. Communion
  • Warrel Dane
  • Lenny Rutledge
  • Sean Blosl
  • Jim Sheppard
  • Dave Budbill
1990 BNR Top Ten album

The Year The Sun Died 
2014 Century Media
  1. Arise and Purify
  2. Let the Serpent Follow Me
  3. Exitium (Anthem of the Living)
  4. Question Existence Fading
  5. I Am Low
  6. Frozen
  7. One Final Day (Sworn to Believe)
  8. The World Is Wired
  9. The Dying Age
  10. Ad Vitam Aeternam
  11. The Year the Sun Died
  • Warrel Dane
  • Lenny Rutledge
  • Brad Hull
  • Jim Sheppard
  • Dave Budbill
2014 BNR and Internet Top Ten album

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Brave Words  Metal Observer  Sputnik Music  Metal Storm 

2017 Century Media
  1. Dream Of The Incubus
  2. Die For My Sins
  3. Soldiers Of Steel
  4. Death Rider / Third War
  5. White Rabbit (JEFFERSON AIRPLANE cover)
  6. Ascension To Destiny
  7. Battle Angels
  8. I Am Insane
  9. Veil Of Disguise


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!