Origin: International
Genres: Power Metal
official site Facebook Twitter

Serious Black  

Serious Black is one of those bands for whom many like to assign the "supergroup" tag -- sure, several European power metal veterans are or were here, yet supergroup seems a bit of a stretch. Anyway, the band was formed in 2014 and debuted a year later on AFM Records (naturally) with As Daylight Breaks. And it sounds exactly what a power metal supergroup might put out -- classic Euro power metal with a few symphonic touches and no surprises whatsover, though the guys all are in typical top form. Two of the bigger names have already rotated out (and replaced with equally stalwart players), thus it's likely this band will exist as more of a project when primary band schedules permit.

Current Members

Urban Breed

vocals (ex-Bloodbound, ex-Tad Morose)

Dominik Sebastian

guitars (Edenbridge)

Bob Katsionis

guitars (Firewind, ex-Nightfall, ex-Revolution Renaissance, ex-Septicflesh)

Mario Lochert


Jan Vacik


Alex Holzwarth

drums (ex-Angra, ex-Avantasia, Dol Ammad, ex-Luca Turilli's Rhapsody, ex-Paradox, ex-Rhapsody Of Fire, ex-Sieges Even)

Former Members/Guests

Roland Grapow

guitars (ex-Helloween, Masterplan)

Thomas Stauch

drums (ex-Blind Guardian, ex-Coldseed, ex-Iron Savior, Savage Circus)


As Daylight Breaks 
2015 AFM
  1. I Seek No Other Life
  2. High and Low
  3. Sealing My Fate
  4. Temple of the Sun
  5. Akhenaton
  6. My Mystic Mind
  7. Trail of Murder
  8. As Daylight Breaks
  9. Someone Else's Life
  10. Setting Fire to the Earth
  11. Older and Wiser
  • Urban Breed
  • Dominik Sebastian
  • Roland Grapow
  • Mario Lochert
  • Jan Vacik
  • Thomas Stauch

Reviews:   Metal Storm  Metal Storm 

2016 AFM
  1. Breaking the Surface
  2. As Long as I'm Alive
  3. Castor Skies
  4. Heartbroken Soul
  5. Dying Hearts
  6. You're Not Alone
  7. Mirrorworld
  8. State of My Despair
  9. The Unborn Never Die
  • Urban Breed
  • Dominik Sebastian
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Mario Lochert
  • Jan Vacik
  • Alex Holzwarth

2017 AFM
  1. With a Tip of the Hat
  2. Binary Magic
  3. Burn! Witches Burn!
  4. Lone Gunman Rule
  5. Now You’ll Never Know
  6. I Can Do Magic
  7. Serious Black Magic
  8. Skeletons on Parade
  9. Mr. Nightmist
  10. The Witch of Caldwell Town
  11. True Love is Blind
  12. Just Kill Me
  13. Newfound Freedom
  14. One Final Song
  • Urban Breed
  • Dominik Sebastian
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Mario Lochert
  • Jan Vacik
  • Alex Holzwarth


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!