Origin: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Genres: Traditional Metal
official site Facebook

Steel Prophet  

An excellent pure power metal band, Steel Prophet toiled in semi-obscurity for several years before the release Dark Hallucinations in 1999, which won the band critical acclaim. The band mixes an early Fates Warning influence with a more aggressive power metal base to good effect. Vocalist (now ex-vocalist) Rick Mythsiasin frequently reminds one of Bruce Dickinson (occasionally frighteningly so) while at other times he sounds a bit like John Cyriis of Agent Steel. The succeeding albums since Hallucinations follow a similar path, both in style and in quality of music. Steel Prophet still hasn't reached the level of fame that they perhaps deserve, at least partly due to their being American and playing a style of metal that is currently more in vogue in Europe. The band has undergone several major lineup changes over the last few years but continue to persevere.

Current Members

Rick Mythiasin

vocals (ex-New Eden, ex-Redemption, ex-Taraxacum)

Steve Kachinsky


Chris Schleyer


Vince Dennis

bass (ex-Obscene Gesture)

James Schultz

drums (Psychosis)

Former Members/Guests

Nadir D'Priest


Horacio Colmenares


Jon Pons


Jim Williams


Pete Skermetta


John Tarascio


Pete Parada

drums (ex-Engine)

Pat Magrath

drums (ex-Killingculture, Prototype)

Kevin Cafferty


Karl Rosqvist



The Goddess Principle 
1995 Art Of Music
  1. Reign Of Christ
  2. Souls Without Honor
  3. Devoid Of Logic
  4. Ruby Dreams
  5. Prophecy Upon Us
  6. The Inner Voice Silenced
  7. To Grasp Eternity
  8. Fatal Euphoria
  9. Penance Of Guilt
  10. Parthenogenesis
  • Rick Mythiasin
  • Steve Kachinsky
  • Horacio Colmenares
  • Vince Dennis
  • John Tarascio

(EP) Continuum 
1996 Art Of Music
  1. Death
  2. Environmental Revolt
  3. Unconscious Man (Walks Erect)
  4. Life
  5. Sungazer
  • Rick Mythiasin
  • Steve Kachinsky
  • Horacio Colmenares
  • Vince Dennis
  • John Tarascio

Into The Void 
1997 Art Of Music
  1. The Revenant
  2. Death Of Innocence
  3. Trapped In The Trip
  4. Your Failure Inscribed In Stone
  5. Passage Of Time (Amber Leaves...)
  6. Of The Dream
  7. Ides Of March/Purgatory
  8. What´s Behind The Veils ?
  9. Idols
  10. Hate²
  • Rick Mythiasin
  • Steve Kachinsky
  • Jon Pons
  • Vince Dennis
  • Pete Parada

Dark Hallucinations 
1999 Nuclear Blast
  1. Montag
  2. Strange Encounter
  3. New Life
  4. The Secret
  5. Betrayal
  6. Scarred For Life
  7. Look What You've Done
  8. We Are Not Alone
  9. Spectres
  10. The Apparition
  • Rick Mythiasin
  • Steve Kachinsky
  • Jon Pons
  • Vince Dennis
  • Pat Magrath

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 

2000 Nuclear Blast
  1. The Ides of March
  2. Messiah
  3. Vengeance Attained
  4. Mysteries of Iniquity
  5. Dawn of Man
  6. Earth and Sky
  7. Goddess Arise
  8. Unseen
  9. 07\03\47
  10. Rapture
  11. Ghosts Once Past
  • Rick Mythiasin
  • Steve Kachinsky
  • Jon Pons
  • Vince Dennis
  • Kevin Cafferty

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 

Genesis (demo + covers) 
2000 Nuclear Blast
  1. Death
  2. Sleep Of Despair
  3. Inner Ascendence
  4. Life
  5. Nihilisms Spell
  6. Technocricide
  7. Fast As A Shark
  8. Gangland
  9. Ides Of March- Purgatory
  10. Fade To Black
  11. Dream Deceiver
  12. Neon Knights
  13. Don't You Forget About Me

Book Of The Dead 
2001 Nuclear Blast
  1. When six was nine
  2. Tragic flaws
  3. Escaped
  4. Soleares
  5. Church of mind
  6. Burning into blackness
  7. The chamber
  8. Locked out
  9. Ruby dreams (Faith and hope)
  10. Phobia
  11. Anger seething
  12. Oleander
  • Rick Mythiasin
  • Steve Kachinsky
  • Jim Williams
  • Vince Dennis
  • Karl Rosqvist

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Brave Words 

2002 Nuclear Blast
  1. Truth
  2. Rainwalker
  3. One Way Out
  4. Shattered Apart
  5. Among The Damned
  6. Bolero
  7. Mirror, Mirror, Life After Life
  8. Magenta
  9. Blackest Of Hearts
  10. Martyred
  11. Killer's Confession
  12. Magenta (Reprise)
  • Rick Mythiasin
  • Steve Kachinsky
  • Jim Williams
  • Vince Dennis
  • Karl Rosqvist

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Brave Words 

2004 Nuclear Blast
  1. Heavenly
  2. Beware
  3. Transfusion Vamp
  4. Leatherette
  5. Angels
  6. Killing Machines
  7. You Are My Life (Gypsy Mind)
  8. Lost My Way
  9. Political Greed (Petrol Man)
  10. Moosilauke Cascade
  • Nadir D'Priest
  • Steve Kachinsky
  • Pete Skermetta
  • Vince Dennis
  • Kevin Cafferty

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

2014 Cruz Del Sur
  1. Trickery of the Scourge
  2. When I Remake the World (A Key Flaw)
  3. 911
  4. Chariots of the Gods
  5. The Tree of Knowledge
  6. 666 Is Everywhere (The Heavy Metal Blues)
  7. Oleander Deux
  8. Aliens, Spaceships and Richard M. Nixon
  9. Through Time and Space
  10. Funeral for Art
  11. Call of Katahdin
  12. Transformation Staircase
  13. Bohemian Rhapsody
  14. 1984 (George Orwell Is Rolling in His Grave)
  • Rick Mythiasin
  • Steve Kachinsky
  • Chris Schleyer
  • Vince Dennis
  • James Schultz

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Metal Observer  Angry Metal Guy  Metal Storm 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!