Origin: Austria
Genres: Black Metal
Facebook official site


The Austrian band Summoning started as a trio in 1993, three young men coming together to play black metal. Black metal was certainly the order of the day on their debut Lugburz, but following the departure of their drummer, the remaining duo decided to forge a different sound. The vocals remained (and still remain) a typical harsh black metal rasp, but the music has blossomed into a majestic, atmospheric, almost ambient form of black metal, with simplistic yet effective keyboards, programmed drums that often sound more orchestral than typical metal percussion, and a decidedly medieval-sounding atmosphere (much of their lyrics are derived from Lord Of The Rings). While the mid-period albums build on this style, it really comes together on the later albums such as the excellent Stronghold. Summoning is a fascinating band, one that fans of traditional black metal as well as doom, gothic, and ambient metal should find appealing.

Current Members

Silenius (Michael Gregor)

vocals/keyboards/bass (ex-Abigor)

Protector (Richard Lederer)


Former Members/Guests

Trifixion (Alexander Trondl)



1995 Napalm
  1. Grey heavens
  2. Beyond bloodred horizons
  3. Flight of the Nazgul
  4. Where winters forever cry
  5. Through the valley of the frozen kingdom
  6. Raising with the battle-orcs
  7. Master of the old lure
  8. Between light and darkness
  9. The eternal lands of fire
  10. Dragons of time
  11. Moondance
  • Silenius
  • Protector
  • Trifixion

Reviews:   Metal Storm 

Minas Morgul 
1995 Napalm
  1. Soul Wandering
  2. Lugburz
  3. The Passing Of The Grey Company
  4. Morthond
  5. Marching Homewards
  6. Orthanc
  7. Ungolianth
  8. Dagor Bragollach
  9. Through The Forest Of Dol Guldur
  10. The Legend Of The Master Ring
  11. Dor Deadeloth
  • Silenius
  • Protector

Reviews:   Metal Storm 

Dol Guldur 
1996 Napalm
  1. Angbands Schmieden
  2. Nightshade Forests
  3. Elfstone
  4. Khazad Dum
  5. Kor
  6. Wyrmvater Glaurung
  7. Unto A Long Glory...
  8. Over Old Hills
  • Silenius
  • Protector

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Metal Storm 

Nightshade Forests 
1997 Napalm
  1. Mirkwood
  2. Kortirion Among The Trees
  3. Flesh And Blood
  4. Habbanan Beneath The Stars
  • Silenius
  • Protector

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 

1999 Napalm
  1. Rhun
  2. Long Lost to Where No Pathway Goes
  3. The Glory Disappears
  4. Like Some Snow-white Marble Eyes
  5. Where Hope and Daylight Die
  6. The Rotting Horse on the Deadly Ground
  7. The Shadow Lies Frozen on the Hills
  8. The Loud Music of the Sky
  9. A Distant Flame Before the Sun
  • Silenius
  • Protector

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos 

Let Mortal Heroes Sing Your Fame 
2001 Napalm
  1. A New Power Is Rising
  2. South Away
  3. In Hollow Halls Beneath The Fells
  4. Out Foes Shall Fall
  5. The Mountain King's Return
  6. Runes Of Power
  7. Ashen Cold
  8. Farewell
  • Silenius
  • Protector

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Teeth Of The Divine  Metal Storm 

(EP) Lost Tales 
2003 Napalm
  1. Arcenstone
  2. Saruman
  • Silenius
  • Protector

Oath Bound 
2006 Napalm
  1. Bauglir
  2. Across The Streaming Tide
  3. Mirdautas Vras
  4. Might And Glory
  5. Beleriand
  6. Northward
  7. Menegroth
  8. Land Of The Dead
  • Silenius
  • Protector

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Storm  Metal Storm 

Old Mornings Dawn 
2013 Napalm
  1. Evernight
  2. Flammifer
  3. Old Mornings Dawn
  4. The White Tower
  5. Caradhras
  6. Of Pale White Morns And Darkened Eves
  7. The Wandering Fire
  8. Earthshine

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Angry Metal Guy  Metal Storm 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!