Origin: Finland
Genres: Viking Metal, Folk Metal
official site


This highly entertaining Finnish combo seems to have come out of nowhere with their 2004 debut, the aptly-titled Battle Metal, though in reality they formed back in 1997, honing their craft via the usual route of demos and promos before Century Media wisely snapped them up. Battle Metal combines the bombast of Bal-Sagoth (check out "Among Ancestors" and BNR favorite "As Torches Rise"), the fun folk of Finntroll and the rousing Viking sensibilities of, say, Thyrfing, creating a sound that is both a sum of influences and yet unmistakeably their own style. This is energetic, anthemic, and simply a joy to listen to.

Current Members

Mathias Nygård

vocals (ex-Cadacross)

Jussi Wickström


Robert Engstrand


Jesper Anastasiadis


Olli Vänskä


Jaakko Jakku


Former Members/Guests

Georg Laakso

guitars (ex-Cadacross)

Antti Ventola

keyboards (ex-Cadacross)

Hannes Horma


Janne Mäkinen


Antti Laurila


Netta Skog


Tuomas Lehtonen



Battle Metal 
2004 Century Media
  1. Victoriae & Triumphi Dominus
  2. As Torches Rise
  3. Battle Metal
  4. The Land Of Hope And Glory
  5. The Messenger
  6. One More
  7. Midnight Sunrise
  8. Among Ancestors
  9. Sahti-Waari
  10. Prologue for R.R.R.
  11. Rex Regi Rebellis
  12. Katuman Kaiku
  • Mathias Nygård
  • Jussi Wickström
  • Georg Laakso
  • Antti Ventola
  • Tuomas Lehtonen

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

The Varangian Way 
2007 Century Media
  1. To Holmgard And Beyond
  2. A Portage To The Unknown
  3. Cursed Be Iron
  4. Fields Of Gold
  5. In The Court Of Jarisleif
  6. Five Hundred And One
  7. The Dnieper Rapids
  8. Miklagard Overture
  • Mathias Nygård
  • Jussi Wickström
  • Hannes Horma
  • Janne Mäkinen
  • Antti Laurila
  • Tuomas Lehtonen

Reviews:   Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

A Finnish Summer With Turisas 
2008 Century Media

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal 

Stand Up And Fight 
2011 Century Media
  1. The March Of The Varangian Guard
  2. Take The Day!
  3. Hunting Pirates
  4. ß??et??! - p??s????!
  5. Stand Up And Fight
  6. The Great Escape
  7. Fear The Fear
  8. End Of An Empire
  9. The Bosphorus Freezes Over
  • Mathias Nygård
  • Jussi Wickström
  • Hannes Horma
  • Olli Vänskä
  • Netta Skog
  • Tuomas Lehtonen

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground  Metal Observer  Angry Metal Guy  Metal Forces 

2013 Century Media
  1. For Your Own Good
  2. Ten More Miles
  3. Piece by Piece
  4. Into the Free
  5. Run Bhang-Eater, Run!
  6. Greek Fire
  7. The Days Passed
  8. No Good Story Ever Starts with Drinking Tea
  9. We Ride Together
  • Mathias Nygård
  • Jussi Wickström
  • Robert Engstrand
  • Jesper Anastasiadis
  • Olli Vänskä
  • Jaakko Jakku


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!