Origin: Dale City, VA, USA
Genres: Doom Metal
official site

While Heaven Wept  

As one might expect given the band and album names, While Heaven Wept is a doom band -- Sorrow Of The Angels is ponderous, classic doom in the mold of old Candlemass or Solitude Aeturnus. The album consists of three songs (plus an acoustic outro), all of which are at least nine minutes long and rarely change pace. Tom Phillip's vocals are perfectly suited for this style of music, coming across as a less operatic Messiah Marcolin (but his style is quite similar). The songs (and the album) are a bit one-dimensional, as the ultra- slow riffs seem to drag a bit. On the other hand, there is a majestic quality to the album that should definitely appeal to classic doom fans. quite similar).

The band lineup has changed several times since the release of Sorrow, with the current lineup shown below. Their last album, Of Empires Forlorn, was released in early 2003, with a new album entitled Vast Oceans Lachrymose, initially planned for a 2007 release (though that hasn't happened yet).

Current Members

Rain Irving


Tom Phillips


Scott Loose


Jim Hunter

bass (October 31, Revelation, Twisted Tower Dire)

Jason Lingle


Trevor Schrotz


Former Members/Guests

Gabe Funston


Danny Ingerson


Michelle Schrotz


Jon Paquin


Jason Gray



(EP) Lovesongs Of The Forsaken 
1994 Sinistrari
  1. In Aeturnum
  2. La Mort D'Amour
  3. Sorrow Of The Angels
  • Tom Phillips
  • Gabe Funston
  • Jon Paquin

Sorrow Of The Angels 
1998 Eibon
  1. Thus with a Kiss I die
  2. Into the Wells of Sorrow
  3. The Death of Love
  4. September
  • Tom Phillips
  • Danny Ingerson
  • Jon Paquin

Of Empires Forlorn 
2003 Eibon
  1. The Drowning Years
  2. Of Empires Forlorn
  3. Voice in the Wind
  4. Soulsadness
  5. Epistle No. 81
  6. Sorrow of the Angels
  7. From Empires to Oceans
  • Tom Phillips
  • Scott Loose
  • Jim Hunter
  • Jason Gray

Reviews:   Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer 

Chapter One: 1989-1999  COMPILATION
2002 Metal Sup.
  1. Thus With a Kiss I Die
  2. Into the Wells of Sorrow
  3. The Death of Love
  4. September
  5. In Aeturnum
  6. La Mort D'Amour
  7. Sorrow of the Angels
  8. The Mourning
  9. Unplenitude
  10. Into the Wells of Sorrow
  11. Shores of Desolation

Vast Oceans Lachrymose 
2009 Cruz Del Sur
  1. The Furthest Shore
  2. To Wander The Void
  3. Living Sepulchre
  4. Vessel
  5. Vast Oceans Lachrymose
  6. Epilogue
  • Rain Irving
  • Tom Phillips
  • Scott Loose
  • Jim Hunter
  • Michelle Schrotz
  • Trevor Schrotz

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Chronicles Of Chaos  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal  Metal Underground 

Lovesongs Of The Forsaken  COMPILATION
2010 High Roller
  1. In Aeturnum
  2. La Mort D'Amour
  3. Sorrow of the Angels
  4. In Aeturnum
  5. La Mort D'Amour
  6. Sorrow of the Angels

Triumph: Tragedy: Transcendence  LIVE
2010 Cruz Del Sur
  1. Vast Oceans Lachrymose
  2. The Furthest Shore (Parts 1-3)
  3. Soulsadness
  4. The Drowning Years
  5. Of Empires Forlorn
  6. Vessel
  7. Thus With A Kiss I Die

Reviews:   Metal Underground 

The Arcane Unearthed  COMPILATION
2011 self-released

Fear Of Infinity 
2011 Nuclear Blast
  • Rain Irving
  • Tom Phillips
  • Scott Loose
  • Jim Hunter
  • Jason Lingle
  • Trevor Schrotz

Reviews:   Metal Review  Lords Of Metal  Metal Observer  Angry Metal Guy 


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!