Origin: Sydney, Australia
Genres: Hard Rock
official site


With their recent Grammy win (the first for an Australian band in 25 years), Wolfmother continue their rise to stardom. Their unabashedly retro sound, drawing from bands such as Led Zeppelin, White Stripes, and of course, prime Black Sabbath, has been wowing fans for the last couple of years. The critical acclaim is there too, though there will always be those who lambast bands like this for being flavors of the moment and simply rehashing old sounds without adding anything original to the mix. Time will tell how far they'll go and how they'll be remembered in the long run, but for now, it has to be said that Wolfmother (the 2006 debut following an EP which was also self-titled) is a pretty catchy affair, and while not terribly original, is solid for what it is -- 70's-influenced hard rock with an occasional pop edge.

A split occurred within the Wolfmother camp in August 2008, with bassist Chris Ross and drummer Myles Heskett leaving, citing personal differences. Guitarist/vocalist Andrew Stockdale has recruited new members and is continuing as Wolfmother.

Current Members

Andrew Stockdale


Aidan Nemeth

rhythm guitar

Ian Peres


Vin Steele


Former Members/Guests

Chris Ross

bass/keyboards (ex-Axis Of Advance)

Myles Heskett


Dave Atkins



(EP) Wolfmother 
2004 Modular
  1. Dimension
  2. Woman
  3. Apple Tree
  4. The White Unicorn
  • Andrew Stockdale
  • Chris Ross
  • Myles Heskett

2006 Modular
  1. Colossal
  2. Woman
  3. White Unicorn
  4. Pyramid
  5. Mind's Eye
  6. Joker And The Thief
  7. Dimension
  8. Where Eagles Have Been
  9. Apple Tree
  10. Tales From The Forest Of Gnomes
  11. Witchcraft
  12. Vagabond
  • Andrew Stockdale
  • Chris Ross
  • Myles Heskett

Reviews:   Blabbermouth  Sea Of Tranquility  Lords Of Metal 

Cosmic Egg 
  1. California Queen
  2. New Moon Rising
  3. White Feather
  4. Sundial
  5. In The Morning
  6. 10,000 Feet
  7. Cosmic Egg
  8. Far Away
  9. Pilgrim
  10. In The Castle
  11. Phoenix
  12. Violence Of The Sun
  • Andrew Stockdale
  • Aidan Nemeth
  • Ian Peres
  • Dave Atkins

Reviews:   Sea Of Tranquility 

New Crown 
2014 self-released
  1. How Many Times
  2. Enemy Is In Your Mind
  3. Heavy Weight
  4. New Crown
  5. Tall Ships
  6. Feelings
  7. "I Ain't Got No"
  8. She Got It
  9. My Tangerine Dream
  • Andrew Stockdale
  • Ian Peres
  • Vin Steele


top tens

about bnr

Follow us on Facebook!