Origin: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA  
Genres: Doomdeath
Page online: November 1, 2006
Last update/review: November 1, 2006


Aphotic was a case study in missed opportunity, the kind of band that might/should have succeeded had they just gotten the one or two breaks needed. Formed in 2000, they scraped enough to record three EPs/demos, finally finding a record company to release all three products on one CD, resulting in Stillness Grows (also the name of the third release) in 2004. They soldiered on for awhile, but by 2005 they had had enough -- frustrated with their inability to get signed, they broke up, releasing one final limited-released EP. Their brand of European-influenced modern doomdeath (along the lines of mid-period Katatonia) certainly wasn't (and isn't) popular in the States, but the fact is that this was much better than the hordes of unsigned bands currently making the rounds. It's truly unfortunate that a band this mature and developed couldn't attract enough financing to keep going -- it goes without saying that these guys deserved much, much better.

Last Lineup



Keith Powers

guitars/programming (ex-Crawl)

Steve Gross


Former Members/Guests

Jason De Jardin

drums (ex-Crawl)


Stillness Grows  
  1. Vulnerable
  2. Benumb
  3. Spores
  4. Loathe
  5. Lunar Ride
  6. Precipice
  7. Under Veil of the Endless Grey Sky
  8. Atmosphere
  9. Free Me
  10. Livid Dread
  11. Glide
  12. Psychoma
  13. A Chance to Live
  14. Panoramic
  • Chad
  • Keith Powers
  • Steve Gross
  • Jason De Jardin

To Find New Darkness (split w/ Dusk)  
2005 Cursed
  1. Crystallized
  2. Spade
  3. Sea
  4. All We Have Is This ..
  5. An Aerial View The Duskfall
  6. Steal My Soul The Duskfall
  7. The Slumber The Duskfall
  8. Perpetual Shrieks The Duskfall
  9. Moonbeams The Duskfall
  • Chad
  • Keith Powers
  • Steve Gross

Failure  EP
2005 self-released
  1. Linger
  2. Failure
  3. Pendulate
  4. Released
  5. Breathe
  • Chad
  • Keith Powers
  • Steve Gross

Copyright © 1995-2020 BNR Productions