Origin: Helsinki, Finland  
Genres: Power Metal
Page online: March 31, 2019
Last update/review: November 27, 2021

Beast In Black

Beast In Black is the new band formed by guitarist Anton Kabanen, following a well-publicized and acrimonious split from Battle Beast in 2015, the band name alone an indicator that Kabanen wasn't happy about the situation and is still harboring a grudge. Rather quickly a debut album, Berzerker was released, and it features a similar style to his other band, that being slick, pompous Euro power metal, with plenty of soaring vocals, singalong chorues, clinical guitar solos, and so forth. It's a shade less overtly poppy than the more recent Battle Beast output, but again, this is what Kabanen knows and there are no shortage of fans that lap this stuff up. To be fair, it is well executed (though, was the blatant knockoff of Europe's "The Final Countdown" (in "Eternal Fire") really necessary?), and surely there is room for both this band and Battle Beast to co-exist.

Current Members

Yannis Papadopoulos


Anton Kabanen

guitars/programming/backing vocals (ex-Battle Beast)

Kasperi Heikkinen

guitars (Elenium, ex-U.D.O.)

Máté Molnár


Atte Palokangas

drums (Agonizer, ex-Before The Dawn, Thunderstone)

Former Members/Guests

Sammi Hänninen



2017 Nuclear Blast
  1. Beast in Black
  2. Blind and Frozen
  3. Blood of a Lion
  4. Born Again
  5. Zodd the Immortal
  6. The Fifth Angel
  7. Crazy, Mad, Insane
  8. Hell for All Eternity
  9. Eternal Fire
  10. Go to Hell
  11. End of the World
  12. Ghost in the Rain
  • Yannis Papadopoulos
  • Anton Kabanen
  • Kasperi Heikkinen
  • Máté Molnár
  • Sammi Hänninen

From Hell With Love  
2019 Nuclear Blast
  1. Cry Out for a Hero
  2. From Hell with Love
  3. Sweet True Lies
  4. Repentless
  5. Die by the Blade
  6. Oceandeep
  7. Unlimited Sin
  8. True Believer
  9. This Is War
  10. Heart of Steel
  11. No Surrender
  12. Killed by Death (Motörhead cover)
  13. No Easy Way Out (Robert Tepper cover)
  • Yannis Papadopoulos
  • Anton Kabanen
  • Kasperi Heikkinen
  • Máté Molnár
  • Atte Palokangas

Dark Connection  
2021 Nuclear Blast
  1. Blade Runner
  2. Bella Donna
  3. Highway to Mars
  4. Hardcore
  5. One Night in Tokyo
  6. Moonlight Rendezvous
  7. Revengeance Machine
  8. Dark New World
  9. To the Last Drop of Blood
  10. Broken Survivors
  11. My Dystopia
  12. Battle Hymn (Manowar cover)
  13. They Don't Care About Us (Michael Jackson cover)
  • Yannis Papadopoulos
  • Anton Kabanen
  • Kasperi Heikkinen
  • Máté Molnár
  • Atte Palokangas

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions