Origin: Finland  
Genres: Gothic Metal
Official Site Facebook
Page online: January 18, 2008
Last update/review: February 26, 2020

Dawn Of Solace

Dawn Of Solace was one of several solo projects run by Finnish vocalist/musician Tuomas Saukkonen, this one more closely related to one of his other bands, Before The Dawn. As Saukkonen puts it, this project was founded during the writing of one of Before The Dawn's albums, and the two projects are meant not to compete with each other, but more to complement his various musical visions. Here, on 2006's The Darkness, the style isn't quite gothic metal like BTD, but a darker, meaner style more along the lines of, perhaps, Katatonia. A second album was underway but never materialized, and the project was shut down in 2008, but in 2019 Saukkonen revived the project and put out a new album a year later.

Recent album: Waves, released on January 24, 2020.

Current Members

Tuomas Saukkonen

vocals/all instruments (ex-Black Sun Aeon, ex-Before The Dawn, Wolfheart)

Mikko Heikkilä

vocals (ex-Black Sun Aeon)

Former Members/Guests

Lars Eikind (guest)

vocals (ex-Before The Dawn)


The Darkness  
  1. Dying Daylight
  2. Wings Of Darkness Attached On The Children Of The Light
  3. I Was Never There
  4. Dead Air
  5. I am Chaos, I am Destruction
  6. Winter Song
  7. Wrath Of Gods Amongst Us
  8. Avalanche
  • Tuomas Saukkonen
  • Lars Eikind

  1. Lead Wings
  2. Ashes
  3. Silence
  4. Hiding
  5. Tuli
  6. Numb
  7. Choice
  8. Ghost
  • Tuomas Saukkonen
  • Mikko Heikkil√§

Copyright © 1995-2020 BNR Productions