Origin: Portland, Oregon, USA  
Genres: Stoner Rock
Page online: March 12, 2008
Last update/review: June 9, 2023


Hailing from Portland, Oregon, Danava clearly has no use for modern metal. Their debut, 2005 self-titled release screams 70's metal, with a faint spacey/psychedelic edge that brings the band close to stoner rock territory along with an interesting late-70's Black Sabbath influence. They've flown far under the radar ever since, sporadically releasing albums, with the latest being 2023 Nothing But Nothing, which keeps the basic blueprint of the debut but feels both more rooted in the 70's and more developed and mature. This is seriously fun to listen to, and like any good retro experience, a familiar yet unique breath of fresh air.

Current Members

Dusty Sparkles (Gregory Meleney)


Kerby Strom


Dominic Casciato


Matthew Oliver


Former Members/Guests

Andrew Forgash

rhythm guitar

Dell Blackwell


Jarred Rockwell


Buck Rothy (Monte Mattsson)



2006 Kemado
  1. By the Mark
  2. Eyes In Disguise
  3. Quiet Babies Astray In a Manger
  4. Longdance
  5. Maudie Shook
  • Dusty Sparkles
  • Dell Blackwell
  • Jarred Rockwell
  • Buck Rothy

2008 Kemado
  1. Unonou
  2. Where Beauty & Terror Dance
  3. The Emerald Snow Of Sleep
  4. A High Or A Low
  5. Spinning Temple Shifting
  6. Down From A Cloud, Up From the Ground
  7. One Mind Gone Separate Ways
  • Dusty Sparkles
  • Dell Blackwell
  • Jarred Rockwell
  • Buck Rothy

Hemisphere Of Shadows  
2011 Kemado
  1. Shoot Straight With A Crooked Gun
  2. White Nights Of Murder
  3. The Last Goodbye
  4. I Am The Skull
  5. Riding Hood
  6. The Illusion Crawls
  7. Hemisphere Of Shadows
  8. Dying Into Light
  • Dusty Sparkles
  • Andrew Forgash
  • Dell Blackwell
  • Matthew Oliver

Nothing But Nothing  
2023 Tee Pee
  1. Nothing But Nothing
  2. Let the Good Times Kill
  3. Season of Vengeance
  4. Enchanted Villain
  5. At Midnight You Die
  6. Strange Killer
  7. Nuthin But Nuthin
  8. Čas (Schelinger / F.R. Čech cover)
  • Dusty Sparkles
  • Kerby Strom
  • Dominic Casciato
  • Matthew Oliver

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions