Origin: Marseille, Sweden  
Genres: Death Metal
Facebook YouTube
Page online: January 25, 2011
Last update/review: May 6, 2012


Devian was formed by vocalist Legion and drummer Emil, both of whom were at one time together in Marduk. The band plays modern extreme metal, meaning that their style contains at least some elements of black, death, and thrash (if any, death might be the dominant of the three here), clearly with Swedish roots and done with conviction. There's nothing revolutionary here, but the pieces fit together nicely and, befitting a band consisting of members with past pedigree, the guys knew what they wanted to do and did it well. They released two albums in 2007 and 2008, but following Legion's departure in 2009, the remaining members lost interest in keeping the band alive, and decided to disband in June 2011 in order to pursue other projects.

Last Lineup

Legion (Erik Hagstedt)

vocals (ex-Marduk, ex-Ophthalamia, ex-Witchery)

Jonas Mattson


Tomas Nilsson

guitars (ex-Dark Funeral, Zornheym)

Emil Dragutinovic

drums (ex-Marduk)

Former Members/Guests

Marcus Lundberg

guitars (Year Of The Goat)


Ninewinged Serpent  
2007 Century Media
  1. Serenade For the Fallen (Intro)
  2. Dressed In Blood
  3. Heresy
  4. Scarred
  5. Suffer the Fools
  6. Fatalist
  7. Gemini Is the Snake
  8. Instigator
  9. Remnant Song
  10. Ninewinged Serpent
  • Legion
  • Jonas Mattson
  • Marcus Lundberg
  • Tomas Nilsson
  • Emil Dragutinovic

God To The Ill-Fated  
2008 Century Media
  1. Mask of Virtue
  2. Assailant
  3. The Unspoken
  4. Saintbleeder
  5. I'm the Pariah
  6. God to the Illfated
  7. Summerdeath
  8. South of Halo
  9. Awaiting Doom
  10. When the Vultures Have Left
  11. Reap the Storm
  12. Raison D'etre
  • Legion
  • Jonas Mattson
  • Tomas Nilsson
  • Emil Dragutinovic

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions