Origin: Pori, Finland  
Genres: Doomdeath
Official Site Facebook
Page online: September 30, 2008
Last update/review: January 17, 2017

Depressed Mode

What a fantastic band name -- presumably an homage to Depeche Mode, but even if not, it's still a perfect name for a doom band such as this. The band originated in 2005 as a solo project by one Ossy Salonen, who eventually roped in members to form a proper group, eventually winning over Firebox Records who put out Ghosts Of Devotion in 2007. This is top-notch doomdeath with funeral doom influences (so, not quite a true funeral band, but at times pretty close), with the two calling cards being Salonen's excellent keyboard work and the vocal work of Natalie Koskinen (also a member of another excellent Finnish doom band, Shape Of Despair). While Salonen's typical death growls are fine, Koskinen's graceful, ethereal vocals really give the songs an added dose of class and beauty. They lasted two albums before breaking up.

Last Lineup

Ossy Salonen


Natalie Koskinen

vocals (Shape Of Despair)

Tomppa Turpienen


Teemu Heinola

guitars (Mors Principium Est)

Jori Haukio

clarinet (ex-Mors Principium Est)

Henri Hakala


Iiro Aittokoski


Marissa Marjamäki

backing vocals

Former Members/Guests

Jani Lamminpää


Marko Tommila



Ghosts Of Devotion  
2007 Firebox
  1. Alone
  2. So Long
  3. Words of Silence
  4. Suffer in Darkness
  5. Ghosts of Devotion
  6. The Sun is Dead
  7. Fallen Angel
  8. Dunkelheit
  9. Cold
  • Ossy Salonen
  • Natalie Koskinen
  • Tomppa Turpienen
  • Jori Haukio
  • Jani Lamminpää
  • Henri Hakala
  • Marko Tommila
  • Marissa Marjamäki

... For Death  
2009 Firebox
  1. Death Multiplies
  2. She's Frozen
  3. Loving a Shadow
  4. The Scent
  5. Prologue to the Thousand Skies
  6. Tunnel of Pain
  7. A Glimpse of Tomorrow
  8. A Sigh...
  9. ...For Death
  • Ossy Salonen
  • Natalie Koskinen
  • Tomppa Turpienen
  • Teemu Heinola
  • Jori Haukio
  • Henri Hakala
  • Iiro Aittokoski
  • Marissa Marjamäki

Copyright © 1995-2020 BNR Productions