Origin: Veddige, Sweden  
Genres: Melodic Death Metal
Last update/review: March 26, 2022


Eucharist is considered by some to be a pioneer in the Swedish death metal field, in particular the so-called Gothenburg or melodic death metal genre. Based on their debut, A Velvet Creation, labelling them a Gothenburg band doesn't seem quite right, as they don't really have too much in common with the In Flames of the world, but they were a death metal band, and with a strong sense of melody, though it's an odd, muted, quirky form of melody. It's an interesting listen, as there are some intriguing time shifts and rambling guitar riffs on display. Apparently their original lifespan was rather short, as, according to one report, they had actually disbanded before even recording A Velvet Creation due to intense personal conflicts. After several fits and starts a modified lineup put out Mirrorworlds in 1997 before disappearing again, this time until 2015. Their most notable export was drummer Daniel Erlandsson, later seen in Arch Enemy and Armageddon.

Current Members

Markus Johnsson


Simon Schilling

drums (ex-Belphegor, Marduk, ex-Panzerchrist)

Former Members/Guests

Thomas Einarsson


Tobias Gustafsson

bass (ex-Armageddon)

Markus Karlsson


Daniel Erlandsson

drums (Arch Enemy, ex-Armageddon, ex-Brujeria, ex-In Flames)


A Velvet Creation  
1994 Wrong Again
  1. Greeting immortality
  2. The Religion fo the blood-red velvet
  3. March of insurrection
  4. My bleeding tears
  5. Floating
  6. A velvet creation
  7. Into the cosmic sphere
  8. Once my eye moved mountains
  • Markus Johnsson
  • Thomas Einarsson
  • Tobias Gustafsson
  • Daniel Erlandsson

1997 Wrong Again
  1. Mirrorworld
  2. Dissolving
  3. With the Sun
  4. The Eucharist
  5. Demons
  6. Fallen
  7. In Nakedness
  8. Bloodred Stars
  • Markus Johnsson
  • Markus Karlsson
  • Daniel Erlandsson

I Am The Void  
2022 Regain
  1. Shadows
  2. A Vast Land of Eternal Night
  3. Goddess of Filth (Tlazolteotl)
  4. In the Blaze of the Blood Red Moon
  5. Mistress of Nightmares
  6. Nexion
  7. 'Queen of Hades
  8. Where the Sinister Dwell
  9. In the Heart of Infinity
  10. Lilith
  11. Darkness Divine
  12. I Am the Void
  • Markus Johnsson
  • Simon Schilling

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions