Origin: Luleå, Sweden  
Genres: Melodic Death Metal
Page online: June 5, 2006
Last update/review: July 7, 2006

Gates Of Ishtar

Releasing three albums in the late nineties, the Swedish band Gates Of Ishtar firmly entrenched themselves in the melodic death metal camp, which at that time was a growing but not yet oversaturated style. Like many bands in this field, they sprinkled a few unique touches here and there but largely confined themselves to that classic Gothenburg style, ultimately becoming more of a face in the crowd rather than a truly original group. A couple of the guys moved on to a similarly-styled band, The Duskfall, a band that might have started while these guys were still active.

Last Lineup

Mikael Sandorf

vocals/bass (The Duskfall)

Urban Carlsson


Former Members/Guests

Andreas Johansson


Tomas Jutenfäldt


Niklas Svensson


Danjel Röhr

bass RIP: November 26, 2022, cancer, age 46

Oskar Karlsson

drums (ex-Defleshed, ex-The Duskfall) RIP: March 4, 2016, age 39

Henrik Åberg



A Bloodred Path  
1996 Spinefarm
  1. Inanna
  2. Where The Winds Of Darkness Blow
  3. The Silence
  4. Tears
  5. The Dreaming Glade
  6. Where Daylight's Gone
  7. Into Seasons Of Frost
  8. A Bloodred Path
  9. I Wanna Be Somebody
  • Mikael Sandorf
  • Andreas Johansson
  • Tomas Jutenfäldt
  • Niklas Svensson
  • Oskar Karlsson

The Dawn Of Flames  
1997 Invasion
  1. Perpetual Dawn (The Arrival Of Eternity - End My Pain)
  2. Trail Of Tears
  3. Forever Scarred
  4. Dreamfields
  5. Dawn Of Flames
  6. Eternal Sin
  7. No Time
  8. The Embrace Of Winter
  9. Where the Winds of Darkness Blow (bonus track)
  10. A Bloodred Path (bonus track)
  11. The Dreaming Glade (bonus track)
  12. The Silence (bonus track)
  • Mikael Sandorf
  • Andreas Johansson
  • Tomas Jutenfäldt
  • Danjel Röhr
  • Henrik Åberg

At Dusk And Forever  
1998 Invasion
  1. Wounds
  2. The Nightfall
  3. At Dusk And Forever
  4. Battles To Come
  5. The Burning Sky
  6. Never Alone Again
  7. Always
  8. Forever Beach
  • Mikael Sandorf
  • Urban Carlsson
  • Oskar Karlsson

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions