Origin: Australia  
Genres: Black Metal
Last update/review: November 1, 2002


At the time of this band's only release, Horde was said to originate from the frozen wastelands of Norway, the band consisting of one mysterious member going by the name of Anonymous (clearly the name is a word play on the infamous Euronymous of Mayhem). It wasn't until much later that the identity of Anonymous was revealed, and it turned out to be Jayson Sherlock, who has spent time in the two Christian bands Mortification and Paramaecium. The style on Hellig Usvart is straight old-school Norwegian-style black metal, right down to the vocals and minimalist production. The lyrics, on the other hand, are quite Christian, which is no surprise given Sherlock's pedigree but did cause a stir at the time, as Christianity is hardly the normal subject of black metal bands, except in a negative light. As black metal albums go, one could do far worse than Hellig Usvart. Sherlock stated in later interviews that there were no plans for any future Horde recordings.

Last Lineup

Anonymous (Jayson Sherlock)

vocals/all instruments (ex-Deliverance, ex-InExordium, ex-Mortification, ex-Paramaecium)


Hellig Usvart  
1994 Nuclear Blast
  1. A Church Bell Tolls Amidst The Frozen Nordic Winds
  2. Blasphemous Abomination of the Satanic Pentagram
  3. Behold, The Rising of the Scarlet Moon
  4. Thine Hour Hast Come
  5. Release and Clothe the Virgin Sacrifice
  6. Drink From the Chalice of Blood
  7. Silence the Blasphemous Chanting
  8. Invert the Inverted Cross
  9. An Abandoned Grave Bathes Softly in the Falling Moonlight
  10. Crush the Bloodied Horns of the Goat
  11. Weak, Feeble, Dying Antichrist
  • Anonymous

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions