Origin: Hamburg, Germany  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Last update/review: May 6, 2018

Iron Angel

Iron Angel was one of the better early German thrash bands, playing a crunchy, speedy, energetic form of thrash similar to then-labelmates Destruction. They recorded two albums in the mid-eighties, with the debut, Hellish Crossfire, being the heavier and generally regarded as the better of the two. They broke up in the late 80's, reformed in 2000 and had progressed on a new album entitled The Rebirth, but the death of guitarist Peter Wittke put those plans to rest, and the album was never released. A second reunion came about in 2007, resulting in a new demo, but again the guys decided not to continue. Finally, vocalist Dirk Schröder revived the Iron Angel lineup with all-new members around 2014.

Upcoming album: Emerald Eyes, release date October 2020.

Current Members

Dirk Schröder


Nino Helfrich


Robert Altenbach


Didy Mackel

bass (Not Fragile)

Max Behr


Former Members/Guests

Peter Wittke

guitars RIP: September 21, 2000, car accident

Sven Strüven

guitars RIP: April 1, 2008

Mitsch Meyer


Thorsten Lohmann


Mike Mattes



Hellish Crossfire  
1985 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. The Metallian
  2. Sinner
  3. Black Mass
  4. The Church Of The Lost Souls
  5. Hunter In Chains
  6. Rush Of Power
  7. Legions Of Evil
  8. Wife Of The Devil
  9. Nightmare
  10. Heavy Metal Soldiers
  • Dirk Schröder
  • Peter Wittke
  • Sven Strüven
  • Thorsten Lohmann
  • Mike Mattes

Winds Of War  
1986 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. Winds Of War
  2. Metalstorm
  3. Son Of A Bitch
  4. Vicious
  5. Born To Rock
  6. Fight For Your Life
  7. Stronger Than Steel
  8. SeaOfFlames
  9. Creatures Of Destruction
  10. Back To The Silence
  • Dirk Schröder
  • Peter Wittke
  • Sven Strüven
  • Thorsten Lohmann
  • Mike Mattes

2003 Renewed
  1. Metalstorm (Live)
  2. Son of a Bitch (Live)
  3. Stronger then Steel (Live)
  4. Vicious (Live)
  5. Fifgt For Your Live (Live)
  6. Creatures For destruction (Live)
  7. Sea of Flames (Live)
  8. Rush of Power (Live)
  9. Legions of Evil (Live)
  10. Open the Gate/Devil's Gate (Demo)
  11. Rush of Power (Demo)
  12. Maniac of the Night (Demo)
  13. Sea of Flames (Demo)
  14. Wife of the Devil (Demo)
  15. Hounds of Hell (Demo)
  16. Untitled (Demo)
  17. Untitled (Demo)

2004 independent
  1. Intro/The Metallian
  2. Sinner 666
  3. Black Mass
  4. Chruch Of The Lost Souls
  5. Rush Of Power
  6. Hunter In Chains
  7. Legions Of Evil
  8. Wife Of The Devil
  9. Nightmare
  10. Devil's Gate
  11. Into/The Metallian
  12. Legions Of Evil
  13. Church Of The Lost Souls
  14. Sinner 666
  15. Heavy-Metal-Soldiers
  16. Rush Of Power (live)

Live In Bochum  LIVE
2013 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. Metalstorm
  2. Son of a Bitch
  3. Stronger Than Steel
  4. Vicious
  5. Fight For Your Life
  6. Creatures of Destruction
  7. Sea of Flames

Legions Of Evil  COMPILATION
2016 High Roller
  1. Opener: Return from Hell
  2. Metallian
  3. Legions of Evil
  4. Church of the Lost Souls
  5. Sinner 666
  6. Heavy Metal Soldiers
  7. Rush of Power (live)
  8. Intro - Open the Gate
  9. Devil's Gate
  10. Rush of Power
  11. Maniac of the Night
  12. Sea of Flames
  13. Wife of the Devil
  14. Hounds of Hell

2018 Mighty Music
  1. Writing's On The Wall
  2. Judgement Day
  3. Hell And Back
  4. Carnivore Flashmob
  5. Blood And Leather
  6. Deliverance In Black
  7. Waiting For A Miracle
  8. Hellbound
  9. Purist Of Sin
  10. Ministry Of Metal
  • Dirk Schröder
  • Mitsch Meyer
  • Robert Altenbach
  • Didy Mackel
  • Max Behr

Emerald Eyes    RELEASE DATE: October 2020
2020 Mighty Music

Copyright © 1995-2020 BNR Productions