Origin: Germany  
Genres: Gothic Metal
Official Site Facebook Twitter
Page online: February 13, 2008
Last update/review: June 3, 2018


A glance at the member names of Midnattsol might pique the interest of Theatre Of Tragedy fans, since here we have a vocalist with the last name Sure enough, Carmen Elise is the sister of Liv Kristine, and there is a clear similarity in vocal styles and (to a lesser extent) musical styles. The band calls themselves "nordic folk metal", but this is closer to standard gothic metal with a lighter touch, albeit with the occasional interlude that brings folk to mind. Inevitably this band will be compared to either Theatre Of Tragedy or Liv's newer band Leaves' Eyes, and while Midnattsol isn't that far from either band, Midnattsol is better served by being evaluated on their own merits. Where Twilight Dwells is enjoyable, if a bit safe, and while there is room for this band to broaden their style, Midnattsol is a fine choice for lighter gothic metal.

Current Members

Carmen Elise Espanæs


Liv Kristine Espenæs

vocals (ex-Leaves' Eyes, ex-Theatre Of Tragedy)

Stephan Adolph

guitars (ex-Ahab)

Alex Kautz


Daniel Fischer


Former Members/Guests

Daniel Droste

guitars (Ahab)

Christian Hector

guitars (Ahab)

Birgit Öllbruner


Chris Merzinsky



Where Twilight Dwells  
2005 Napalm
  1. Another Return
  2. Lament
  3. Unpayable Silence
  4. Haunted
  5. Desolation
  6. Enlightenment
  7. Tårefall
  8. Infinite Fairytale
  9. På Leting
  10. Dancing With the Midnight Sun
  11. Tapt Av Håp
  • Carmen Elise Espanæs
  • Daniel Droste
  • Christian Hector
  • Birgit Öllbruner
  • Daniel Fischer
  • Chris Merzinsky

2008 Napalm
  1. Open your eyes
  2. Skogens lengsel
  3. Northern light
  4. Konkylie
  5. Wintertimes
  6. Race of time
  7. New horizon
  8. River of virgin soil
  9. En natt i nord
  10. Octobre (Limited Edition)
  • Carmen Elise Espanæs
  • Daniel Droste
  • Christian Hector
  • Birgit Öllbruner
  • Daniel Fischer
  • Chris Merzinsky

The Metamorphosis Melody  
2011 Napalm
  1. Alv
  2. The Metamorphosis Melody
  3. Spellbound
  4. The Tide
  5. A Poet's Prayer
  6. Forlorn
  7. Kong Valemons kamp
  8. Goodbye
  9. Forvandlingen
  10. Motets makt
  11. My Re-Creation
  • Carmen Elise Espanæs
  • Daniel Droste
  • Alex Kautz
  • Birgit Öllbruner
  • Daniel Fischer
  • Chris Merzinsky

The Aftermath  
2018 Napalm
  1. The Purple Sky
  2. Syns Sang
  3. Vem Kan Segla
  4. Ikje Glem Meg
  5. Herr Mannelig
  6. The Aftermath
  7. The Unveiled Truth
  8. Evaluation Of Time
  9. Forsaken
  10. Eitrdropar (bonus track)
  • Carmen Elise Espanæs
  • Liv Kristine Espenæs
  • Stephan Adolph
  • Alex Kautz
  • Daniel Fischer

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions