Origin: Austria  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site
Page online: October 25, 2009
Last update/review: January 30, 2016


Already one of Austria's leading power/prog bands, Serenity formed in 2001, stabilized their lineup a few years later, and have released albums in 2007 and 2008 thus far. In recent years they have gained in popularity due to touring with Threshold and Kamelot, and these two bands give a good indication of where Serenity is coming from -- not that Serenity clones either band, but their style of power-laced progressive metal with symphonic elements surely fits nicely alongside either band. Occasionally their songs seem to remain within the bounds of their genre (a common criticism for many bands) -- while the musicianship, songwriting and production can't be faulted, in reality there isn't a lot here that really sounds unique. European fans routinely lap up bands like this, and with the field as crowded as it is, Serenity might find it tough to rise above the rest, but there's considerable talent here, and they seem to have all the pieces in place to continue to flourish.

Current Members

Georg Neuhauser


Christian Hermsdörfer


Fabio D'Amore

bass/vocals (ex-Fairyland)

Andreas Schipflinger

drums/backing vocals

Former Members/Guests

Clementine Delauney


Thomas Buchberger


Simon Holzknecht

bass (ex-Edenbridge)

Mario Hirzinger

keyboards/backing vocals


Words Untold & Dreams Unlived  
2007 Napalm
  1. Canopus Three
  2. Thriven
  3. Dreams Unlived (Instrumental)
  4. Reduced to Nothingness
  5. Forever
  6. Dead Man Walking
  7. From Where the Dark Is Born
  8. Words Untold (Instrumental)
  9. Circle of My Second Life
  10. Engraved Within
  11. Dark Desire In Red (Bonus Track)
  • Georg Neuhauser
  • Thomas Buchberger
  • Simon Holzknecht
  • Mario Hirzinger
  • Andreas Schipflinger

Fallen Sanctuary  
2008 Napalm
  1. All Lights Reversed
  2. Rust of Coming Ages
  3. Coldness Kills
  4. To Stone She Turned
  5. Fairytales
  6. The Heartblood Symphony
  7. Velatum
  8. Derelict
  9. Sheltered (By the Obscure)
  10. Oceans of Ruby
  • Georg Neuhauser
  • Thomas Buchberger
  • Simon Holzknecht
  • Mario Hirzinger
  • Andreas Schipflinger

Death & Legacy  
2011 Napalm
  1. Set Sail To… (intro)
  2. New Horizons
  3. The Chevalier
  4. Far From Home
  5. Heavenly Mission
  6. Prayer (interlude)
  7. State Of Siege
  8. Changing Fate
  9. When Canvas Starts To Burn
  10. Serenade Of Flames
  11. Youngest Of Widows (limited edition only)
  12. Below Eastern Skies (interlude)
  13. Beyond Desert Sands
  14. To India's Shores (limited edition only)
  15. Lament (interlude)
  16. My Legacy
  • Georg Neuhauser
  • Thomas Buchberger
  • Mario Hirzinger
  • Andreas Schipflinger

War Of Ages  
2013 Napalm
  1. Wings Of Madness
  2. The Art Of War
  3. Shining Oasis
  4. For Freedom's Sake
  5. Age Of Glory
  6. The Matricide
  7. Symphony For The Quiet
  8. Tannenberg
  9. Legacy Of Tudors
  10. Royal Pain
  11. Fairytales (ballad version; limited-edition bonus track)
  12. Love Of My Life (limited-edition bonus track)
  • Georg Neuhauser
  • Clementine Delauney
  • Thomas Buchberger
  • Fabio D'Amore
  • Andreas Schipflinger

Codex Atlanticus  
2016 Napalm
  1. Codex Atlanticus
  2. Follow Me
  3. Sprouts of Terror
  4. Iniquity
  5. Reason
  6. My Final Chapter
  7. Caught in a Myth
  8. Fate of Light
  9. The Perfect Woman
  10. Spirit in the Flesh
  11. The Order
  • Georg Neuhauser
  • Christian Hermsdörfer
  • Fabio D'Amore
  • Andreas Schipflinger

2017 Napalm
  1. Deus Lo Vult
  2. United
  3. Lionheart
  4. Hero
  5. Rising High
  6. Heaven
  7. King's Landing
  8. Eternal Victory
  9. Stand And Fight
  10. The Fortress (Of Blood And Sand)
  11. Empire
  12. My Fantasy
  13. The Final Crusade
  • Georg Neuhauser
  • Christian Hermsdörfer
  • Fabio D'Amore
  • Andreas Schipflinger

Copyright © 1995-2021 BNR Productions