Origin: Anchorage, Alaska, USA  
Genres: Metalcore
Official Site
Last update/review: November 5, 2017

36 Crazyfists

Alaska hasn't produced much in the way of metal bands over the years, with perhaps only the 80's band Pandemonium having significant Alaskan heritage. 36 Crazyfists is one such band, the quartet taking their name from a Jackie Chan movie and eventually relocating to Oregon before recording their first album, Bitterness The Star, in 2002, the first of a string of albums in the 2000's. The band straddles the line between harder nu-metal and the current metalcore rage, with a healthy dose of emo thrown into the mix, and vocals alternating between a melodic side and the usual monotonic hardcore blasts. There's a fair degree of variety in the songs, though overall there isn't a lot here that is brand-new, as this genre has really taken hold in the last few years and there are many bands in this style. A Snow Capped Romance is solid for the genre, and the market for this style is still on the rise, but a tad more originality might be in order for these guys to rise above the competition.

Current Members

Brock Lindow


Steve Holt


Mick Whitney


Kyle Baltus


Former Members/Guests

Brett Makowski

bass (ex-Incantation, ex-Profanatica)

Thomas Noonan



Bitterness The Star  
2002 Roadrunner
  1. Turns To Ashes
  2. One More Word
  3. An Agreement Called Forever
  4. Eightminutesupsidedown
  5. Slit Wrist Theory
  6. Bury Me Where I Fall
  7. Dislocate
  8. Two Months From A Year
  9. Chalk White
  10. All I Am
  11. Ceramic
  12. Circle Of Drain
  13. Left Hand Charity
  • Brock Lindow
  • Steve Holt
  • Mick Whitney
  • Thomas Noonan

A Snow Capped Romance  
2004 Roadrunner
  1. At The End of August
  2. The Heart and The Shape
  3. Bloodwork
  4. Kenai
  5. Skin and Atmosphere
  6. Song For The Fisherman
  7. With Nothing Underneath
  8. Destroy The Map
  9. Installing The Catheter
  10. Cure Eclipse
  11. Waterhaul
  • Brock Lindow
  • Steve Holt
  • Mick Whitney
  • Thomas Noonan

Rest Inside The Flames  
2006 DRT
  1. I'll Go Until My Heart Stops
  2. Felt Through A Phone Line
  3. On Any Given Night
  4. Elysium
  5. Great Descent
  6. Midnight Swim
  7. Aurora
  8. Will Pull This In By Hand
  9. We Cannot Deny
  10. Between The Anchor And The Air
  11. City Ignites
  • Brock Lindow
  • Steve Holt
  • Mick Whitney
  • Thomas Noonan

The Tide And Its Takers  
2008 Ferret
  1. All Night Lights
  2. We Gave It Hell
  3. The Back Harlow Road
  4. Clear The Coast
  5. Waiting On A War
  6. Only A Year Or So...
  7. Absent Are The Saints
  8. Vast And Vague
  9. When Distance Is The Closest Reminder
  10. Northern November
  11. The Tide And Its Takers
  • Brock Lindow
  • Steve Holt
  • Mick Whitney
  • Thomas Noonan

Underneath A Northern Sky  VIDEO

Collisions And Castaways  
  1. In the Midnights
  2. Whitewater
  3. Mercy and Grace
  4. Death Renames the Light
  5. Anchors
  6. Long Roads to Late Nights
  7. Trenches
  8. Reviver
  9. Caving in Spirals
  10. The Deserter
  11. Waterhaul II
  • Brock Lindow
  • Steve Holt
  • Mick Whitney
  • Brett Makowski
  • Thomas Noonan

Time And Trauma  
2015 Spinefarm
  1. Vanish
  2. 11
  3. Sorrow Sings
  4. Lightless
  5. Time And Trauma
  6. Also Am I
  7. Translator
  8. Silencer
  9. Slivers
  10. Swing The Noose
  11. Gathering Bones
  12. Marrow
  • Brock Lindow
  • Steve Holt
  • Mick Whitney
  • Kyle Baltus

2017 Spinefarm
  1. Death Eater
  2. Wars To Walk Away From
  3. Better To Burn
  4. Damaged Under Sun
  5. Sea And Smoke
  6. Where Revenge Ends
  7. Sleepsick
  8. Bandage For Promise
  9. Laying Hands
  10. Below The Graves
  11. Old Gold
  12. Dark Corners

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions