Origin: England  
Genres: NWOBHM
Last update/review: September 4, 2014


Avenger was one of several second-division NWOBHM bands that sprung up in England in the early 80's. The early lineup featured vocalist Brian Ross, but he was replaced by Ian Swift in, essentially, a vocalist swap with Satan (Swift left Satan, Ross departed Avenger to take the empty singer slot, and Swift later decided to join Avenger). The band recorded two albums with Neat Records before disbanding shortly after the Killer Elite release. Their style was quinessential Neat NWOBHM -- raw, underproduced, energetic mid-paced Brit metal, not terribly unique. As a trivia note, Avenger was also the name of the unrelated German band who, after two albums, changed name to Rage.

Founding members Swift and drummer Gary Young have resurrected the band with a new album, The Slaughter Never Stops, in 2014.

Current Members

Ian Swift

vocals (ex-Atomkraft)

Sean Jeffries


Liam Thompson


Gary Young

drums/backing vocals (ex-Blitzkrieg)

Former Members/Guests

Les Cheetham


Greg Reiter


Mick Moore

bass (ex-Blitzkrieg)

Ian Fulton


Huw Holding

bass (ex-Blitzkrieg, Tygers Of Pan Tang)


Blood Sports  
1984 Neat
  1. Enforcer
  2. You'll never take me
  3. Matriarch
  4. Warfare
  5. On the rocks
  6. Rough ride
  7. Victims of force
  8. Death race 2000
  9. N.O.T.J.
  • Ian Swift
  • Les Cheetham
  • Mick Moore
  • Gary Young

Killer Elite  
1985 Neat
  1. Revenge Attack
  2. Run For Your Life
  3. Brand Of Torture
  4. Steel On Steel
  5. (Fight For The) Right To Rock
  6. Hard Times
  7. Under The Hammer
  8. Face To The Ground
  9. Dangerous Games
  10. Yesterdays Heroes
  11. M.M. 85
  12. Sawmill
  • Ian Swift
  • Greg Reiter
  • Mick Moore
  • Gary Young

The Slaughter Never Stops  
2014 Rocksector
  1. Mace Imperial
  2. Race Against Time
  3. Fate
  4. Fields Of The Burnt
  5. Into The Nexus
  6. Decimated
  7. In Arcadia Go!
  8. Killers
  9. Flayer Psychosis
  10. Shot To Hell
  11. Midnight Mass Destruction
  • Ian Swift
  • Sean Jeffries
  • Liam Thompson
  • Ian Fulton
  • Gary Young

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions