Origin: Finland  
Genres: Black Metal
Facebook Official Site YouTube
Page online: March 29, 2005
Last update/review: October 11, 2015


Beherit was not only one of Finland's oldest black metal bands, but a true pioneer and innovator in the world of grim, cult black metal. Taking their cue from bands such as Venom and Hellhammer and then going one step farther, their strength was their minimalist approach -- their songs are among the most simplistic ever recorded by any band, but rather than sounding amateurish, the songs embody evil in its most raw, primitive form. The guitars drone, the drums plod, but the vocals differentiate the band from their fellow black metallists, often processed with various effects that only make the band sound that much more evil.

Befitting a true underground band, Beherit's discography is a bit disjointed. In actuality the original band only recorded one true full-length album, Drawing Down The Moon, preceded by assorted demos, singles, and EPs (the debut album The Oath Of Black Blood is actually nothing more than a re-release of a prior demo and EP). By 1993 the band had flamed out, but leader Holocausto continued to record music as Beherit, resulting in the two albums H418ov21.C and Electric Doom Synthesis. These are not metal albums at all, but instead are extremely dark, minimalist ambient albums, though in retrospect they do represent a logical progression from their classic works. Finally, Holocausto resurrected the band (or, at least, the name) in 2007, and has recorded occasionally since then.

Current Members

Nuclear Holocausto (Marko Laiho)


Former Members/Guests

Sami Tenetz

guitars (ex-Thy Serpent)

Black Jesus (Arjo Wennstrom)


Abyss (Pasi Kolehmainen)


Necroperversor (Jari Pirinen)

drums (ex-Black Crucifixion)


The Oath Of Black Blood  
1991 Turbo Music
  1. Intro
  2. Metal Of Death
  3. The Oath Of Black Blood
  4. Grave Desecration
  5. Witchcraft
  6. Goat Worship
  7. Demonomancy
  8. Black Mass Prayer
  9. Beast Of Damnation
  10. Hail Sathanas
  11. Dawn Of Satan's Millennium
  • Nuclear Holocausto
  • Necroperversor

Werewolf, Semen And Blood  EP
1992 Streetrock
  1. Werewolf, Semen And Blood
  2. Black Mass Prayer
  3. Beast Of Damnation
  4. Hail Satanas
  5. Dawn Of Satans Millenium

Messe Des Morts  EP
1993 Necropolis
  1. Beherit
  2. Satanic Chaos
  3. Seventh Blasphemy
  4. Messe Des Morts
  • Nuclear Holocausto
  • Black Jesus
  • Necroperversor

Drawing Down The Moon  
1993 Spinefarm
  1. Intro (Tireheb)
  2. Salomon's Gate
  3. Nocturnal Evil
  4. Sadomatic Rites
  5. Black Arts
  6. The Gate Of Nanna
  7. Nuclear Girl
  8. Unholy Pagan Fire
  9. Down There ...
  10. Summerlands
  11. Werewolf, Semen And Blood
  12. Thou Angel Of The Gods
  13. Lord Of Shadows And Goldenwood
  • Nuclear Holocausto
  • Black Jesus
  • Necroperversor

1994 Spinefarm
  1. The Gate Of Inanna
  2. Tribal Death
  3. Emotional Ecstasy
  4. Fish
  5. 21st Century
  6. Paradise (Part II)
  7. Mystik Force
  8. Spirit Of The God Of Fire
  9. E-scape
  • Nuclear Holocausto

Electric Doom Synthesis  
1996 Spinefarm
  1. Ambush
  2. We Worship
  3. Dead Inside
  4. Beyond Vision
  5. Deep Night 23rd
  6. Drawing Down the Moon
  7. Sense
  8. Temple
  • Nuclear Holocausto

Beast Of Beherit - Complete Workxxx  COMPILATION
1999 Spinefarm
  1. Beast of damnation
  2. Hail sathanas
  3. Fallen souls
  4. Six days with lord diabolus
  5. Nocturnal evil
  6. Salomon's gate
  7. Dead inside
  8. Beyond vision
  9. Paradise, of thy demonic host
  10. War command
  11. E-scape
  12. Grave desecration
  13. Witchcraft
  14. Ghost of death
  15. Black arts (Live)
  16. Werewolf, semen and blood (Live)
  17. Beherit
  18. Satanic chaos
  19. Seventh blasphemy
  20. Messe des morts
  21. The gate of nanna
  22. Unholy pagan fires
  23. Outro (Tireheb)

2009 Spinefarm
  1. Axiom Heroine
  2. Destroyer of Thousand Worlds
  3. All in Satan
  4. Pagan Moon
  5. Pimeyden Henki
  6. Suck My Blood
  7. Demon Advance
  • Nuclear Holocausto
  • Sami Tenetz
  • Abyss
  • Necroperversor

At The Devil's Studio 1990  
  1. Rehearsal
  2. Grave Desecration Vengeance
  3. At the Devil's Churns
  4. Nocturnal Evil
  5. Whores of Belial
  6. Witchcraft
  7. The Oath of Black Blood
  8. Six Days with Sadistic Slayer
  9. Demonomancy
  • Nuclear Holocausto
  • Necroperversor

Celebrate The Dead  EP
  1. Demon Advance
  2. Celebrate The Dead
  • Nuclear Holocausto

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions