Origin: Gothenburg, Sweden  
Genres: Traditional Metal, Hard Rock
Official Site Facebook Twitter YouTube
Page online: November 14, 2016
Last update/review: March 9, 2020


The Swedish band Bombus released a self-titled album to little fanfare in 2010 but were then snapped up by Century Media for their followup, 2013's The Poet And The Parrot. Their hometown, Gothenburg, often equates to melodic death metal, but not here. Instead, Bombus is one of those bands that draw from several familiar influences but end up not sounding like any one band. They've got a clear dirty/punky vibe going, along with a bit of Motorhead, a lot of hard driving modern metal as done by the likes of High On Fire, Grand Magus, or maybe even recent Mastodon, and at times they slow it down and go almost full-on sludge. The songs are catchy and to the point, but with plenty of variety to keep things interesting. A nice band that could go places. And about the name -- is it "bom-bus" or "bomb us"?

Current Members

Fredirk Berglund


Mattias Jacobsson


Ola Henriksson

bass (ex-Witchcraft)

Peter Asp

drums (ex-Mary Beats Jane)

Former Members/Guests

Ulf Lundén


Jonas Rydberg

bass (ex-Burst)


  1. Biblical
  2. Outsider
  3. Hairy Teeth
  4. Hud
  5. Raised by Pigs
  6. Darkened Matters
  7. Bigger Fish to Fry
  8. Walden III
  9. Castles in the Air
  • Fredirk Berglund
  • Mattias Jacobsson
  • Ulf Lundén
  • Peter Asp

The Poet And The Parrot  
2013 Century Media
  1. Enter the Night
  2. The Poet and the Parrot
  3. Liars
  4. A Safe Passage
  5. Apparatus
  6. Let Her Die
  7. Master the Reality
  8. Into the Fire
  • Fredirk Berglund
  • Mattias Jacobsson
  • Jonas Rydberg
  • Peter Asp

Repeat Until Death  
2016 Century Media
  1. Eyes on the Price
  2. Rust
  3. Deadweight
  4. Head of Flies
  5. I Call You Over (Hairy Teeth, Pt. II)
  6. Repeat Until Death
  7. Shake Them for What They're Worth
  8. You the Man
  9. Get Your Cuts
  • Fredirk Berglund
  • Mattias Jacobsson
  • Ola Henriksson
  • Peter Asp

Vulture Culture  
2019 Century Media
  1. A Ladder - Not a Shovel
  2. (You Are All Just) Human Beings
  3. Mama
  4. It's All Over
  5. In the Shadows
  6. We Lost a Lot of Blood Today
  7. Vulture Culture
  8. Two Wolves and One Sheep
  9. Feeling Is Believing
  • Fredirk Berglund
  • Mattias Jacobsson
  • Ola Henriksson
  • Peter Asp

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions