Origin: Norway  
Genres: Black Metal
Official Site YouTube Facebook
Last update/review: April 4, 2020


Burzum features arguably the most infamous figure in Norwegian black metal, that being one Count Grishnach (real name Christian "Varg" Vikernes). The band evolved from an early band called Uruk-Hai, a band that broke up in 1990. After playing in some short-lived projects (one of which featured future members of Immortal), Vikernes resurrected Uruk-Hai, renamed it Burzum, and continued as a one-man project. Along the way he became one of the leaders of the Inner Circle of black metal musicians and friends, who were responsible for various church burnings and the like in the early nineties. Then came the famous murder of then-bandmate Euronymous of Mayhem (whom Vikernes had recently joined) in 1993, and Vikernes was convicted for the crime and sent to prison, where he remained until the spring of 2009.

From a musical standpoint, the opinion here is that the legacy of Varg the person will always be more lasting and noteworthy than that of Burzum the band. This is not to say that the music is inconsequential, as it is clear that much of the early work was enormously influential to the black metal scene that would blossom in the nineties (the post-jail Burzum recordings are mentioned a bit later below), and in some respects very interesting on its own merits. Burzum relied less far less on blastbeats and raw speed than most black metal bands, but instead focused on midpaced, drawn out riffs with a decidedly haunting tone, with Vikernes' vocals (harsh and tortured even by black metal standards) adding a measure of evil to the mix. Varg's personal life will seemingly always keep the Burzum name in the spotlight, but there is no denying his musical influence on the black metal scene.

Though Vikernes was imprisoned in the early nineties, he continued to release music as Burzum (Filosofem was the last pre-prison album, recorded before his imprisonment though released afterward), but confined to keyboard arrangements. As such, albums such as Daudi Baldrs have nothing to do with metal in any regard. At best, some songs have an interesting new age tone, while other songs come across as quite simplistic arrangements that really don't go anywhere.

Now that Vikernes is out of prison, Burzum is active once again, and albums such as Belus apparently show a return, at least in some part, to the pre-incarceration-period output.

Current Members

Count Grishnackh (Varg Vikernes)

vocals/all instruments (ex-Mayhem, ex-Old Funeral)

Former Members/Guests

Samoth (Tomas Haugen)

bass (ex-Arcturus, Emperor, ex-Gorgoroth, ex-Satyricon, Scum, The Wretched End, ex-Zyklon, ex-Zyklon-B)


1993 Deathlike Silence
  1. Feeble Screams From Forests Unknown
  2. Ea, Lord Of The Deeps
  3. Black Spell Of Destruction
  4. Chanelling The Power Of Souls Into A New God
  5. War
  6. The Crying Orc
  7. A Lost Forgotten Sad Spirit
  8. My Journey To The Stars
  9. Dungeons Of Darkness
  • Count Grishnackh

Aske  EP
1993 Deathlike Silence
  1. Aske
  2. Stemmen Fra Taarnet
  3. Dominus Sathanas
  4. A Lost Forgotten Spirit
  • Count Grishnackh
  • Samoth
1993 Readers' Album #38

Det Som En Gang Var  
1994 Misanthropy
  1. Onde Kysten
  2. Key To The Gate
  3. En Ring Til Aa Herske
  4. Lost Wisdom
  5. Han Som Reiste
  6. Naar Himmelen Klarner
  7. Snu Mikrokosmos Tegn
  8. Svarte Troner
  • Count Grishnackh

Hvis Lyset Tar Oss  
1994 Misanthropy
  1. Det Som En Gang Var
  2. Hvis Lyset Tar Oss
  3. Inn I Slottet Fra Droemmen
  4. Tomhet
  • Count Grishnackh

1996 Misanthropy
  1. Dunkelheit (Darkness)
  2. Jesus Tod
  3. Erblickte Die Töchter Des Fermaments
  4. Gebrechlichkeit (Decrepitude)
  5. Rundgang Um Die Tranzendentale Saule Der Singularitat
  6. Gebrechlichkeit II (Decrepitude Part Two)
  • Count Grishnackh
1996 Readers' Album #83

Daudi Baldrs  
1997 Misanthropy
  1. Daudi Baldrs
  2. Hermodr A Helferd
  3. Balferd Baldrs
  4. I Heimr Heijar
  5. Illa Tidandi
  6. Moti Ragnarokum
  • Count Grishnackh

1999 Misanthropy
  1. Tuistos Herz
  2. Der Tod Wuotans
  3. Ansuegardaraitivo
  4. Die Liebe Nerus
  5. Das Einsame Trauern Von Frijo
  6. Die Kraft des Mitgetuhls
  7. Frijos Goldene Tranen
  8. Der Weinende Hadnar
  • Count Grishnackh

  1. Leukes Renkespill (Introduksjon)
  2. Belus' Død
  3. Glemselens Elv
  4. Kaimadalthas' Nedstigning
  5. Sverddans
  6. Keliohesten
  7. Morgenrøde
  8. Belus' Tilbakekomst (Konklusjon)
  • Count Grishnackh
2010 Readers' Album #35

  1. Fra Verdenstreet
  2. Jeg Faller
  3. Valen
  4. Vanvidd
  5. Enhver til Sitt
  6. Budstikken
  7. Til Hel og Tilbake Igjen
  • Count Grishnackh
2011 Readers' Album #27

  1. Blóðstokkinn
  2. Jóln
  3. Alfadanz
  4. Hit helga Tré
  5. Æra
  6. Heiðr
  7. Valgaldr
  8. Galgviðr
  9. Surtr Sunnan
  10. Gullaldr
  11. Níðhöggr
  • Count Grishnackh
2012 Readers' Album #72

Sôl Austan, Mâni Vestan  
  1. Sôl austan
  2. Rûnar munt þû finna
  3. Sôlarrâs
  4. Haugaeldr
  5. Feðrahellir
  6. Sôlarguði
  7. Ganga at sôlu
  8. Hîð
  9. Heljarmyrkr
  10. Mâni vestan
  11. Sôlbjörg
  • Count Grishnackh

The Ways Of Yore  
  1. God from the Machine
  2. The Portal
  3. Heill Óðinn
  4. The Lady in the Lake
  5. The Coming of Ettins
  6. The Reckoning of Man
  7. Heil Freyja
  8. The Ways of Yore
  9. Ek fellr (I Am Falling)
  10. Hall of the Fallen
  11. Autumn Leaves
  12. Emptiness
  13. To Hel and Back Again

Thulêan Mysteries  
  1. The Sacred Well
  2. The Loss of a Hero
  3. ForeBears
  4. A Thulêan Perspective
  5. Gathering of Herbs
  6. Heill auk Sæll
  7. Jötunnheimr
  8. Spell-Lake Forest
  9. The Ettin Stone Heart
  10. The Great Sleep
  11. The Land of Thulê
  12. The Lord of the Dwarves
  13. A Forgotten Realm
  14. Heill Óðinn, Sire
  15. The Ruins of Dwarfmount
  16. The Road to Hel
  17. Thulêan Sorcery
  18. Descent into Niflheimr
  19. Skin Traveller
  20. The Dream Land
  21. Thulêan Mysteries
  22. The Password
  23. The Loss of Thulê

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions