Origin: USA  
Last update/review: March 19, 2001


Formed by guitarists Marty Friedman and Jason Becker, Cacophony's music featured classical influences and the sort of complex guitar soloing that would become the trademark of Shrapnel releases. The band broke up soon after Go Off, but the next year saw the release (also on Shrapnel) of solo records by both Friedman (Dragon's Kiss*) and Becker (*Perpetual Burn), with each guesting on the other. Friedman, of course, went on to join Megadeth, while Becker played in David Lee Roth's band before contracting ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease), which forced him to retire from the business (though he still composes music with the help of computers, and released a solo album, Perspective, a year or two ago).

Last Lineup

Peter Marrino

vocals (ex-LeMans)

Marty Friedman

guitars (ex-Hawaii, ex-Megadeth, guest for Tourniquet, ex-Vixen)

Jason Becker


Jimmy O'Shea


Kenny Stavropoulos


Former Members/Guests

Atma Anur

drums (ex-Vicious Rumors)


Speed Metal Symphony  
1986 Shrapnel
  1. Savage
  2. Where My Fortune Lies
  3. The Ninja
  4. Concerto
  5. Burn the Ground
  6. Desert Island
  7. Speed Metal Symphony
  • Peter Marrino
  • Marty Friedman
  • Jason Becker
  • Jimmy O'Shea
  • Atma Anur

Go Off!  
1987 Shrapnel
  1. X-Ray Eyes
  2. E.S.P.
  3. Stranger
  4. Go Off!
  5. Black Cat
  6. Sword of the Warrior
  7. Floating World
  8. Images
  • Peter Marrino
  • Marty Friedman
  • Jason Becker
  • Jimmy O'Shea
  • Kenny Stavropoulos

Copyright © 1995-2021 BNR Productions