Origin: Kristiansand, Norway  
Genres: Melodic Death Metal
Official Site Facebook
Page online: February 18, 2009
Last update/review: February 18, 2009

Chain Collector

Chain Collector features, or has featured, several guys well-versed in Norwegian black metal, though this is not a black metal band. As heard on 2005's The Masquerade, this is more along the lines of melodic death metal, albeit not quite in the traditional sense of In Flames cloning. Kjetil Nordhus' clear vocals are a welcome addition here, balancing out the harsher vocals of Sven Axkel Henriksen (though Nordhus is no longer in this band). The guitars have a pretty nice crunch to them, lending a thrashy influence often not heard in melodic death metal, and overall there's a certain groove that similarly distances this band from the hordes of core-influenced melodic death bands currently making the rounds. The Masquerade isn't an essential listen, but it's quite good, and just a tad off the traditional melodic death trail.

Current Members

Sven Axkel Henriksen


Gøran Bomann

guitars (Carpathian Forest)

Runar Hansen

guitars (Trail Of Tears)

Anders Kobro

drums (Carpathian Forest, ex-Green Carnation, In The Woods ..., ex-Scariot)

Former Members/Guests

Kjetil Nordhus

vocals (Green Carnation, ex-Subterranean Masquerade, ex-Tristania, ex-Trail Of Tears)

Kjell Jacobsen


Endre Kirkesola (guest)



Forthcoming Addiction  EP
  1. Wicked Mask
  2. Winter Princess
  3. Crucifixion
  4. Fallen Angel
  • Kjetil Nordhus
  • Gøran Bomann
  • Kjell Jacobsen
  • Endre Kirkesola
  • Anders Kobro

The Masquerade  
2005 Sound Riot
  1. Hierarchy of Murder (Code of Silence)
  2. Harvester
  3. Neverwhere
  4. And Then There Was None
  5. Crucifixion
  6. Project Savior
  7. Tapping The Vein
  8. Fallen Angel
  9. Wicked Mask
  10. Winter Princess
  • Kjetil Nordhus
  • Sven Axkel Henriksen
  • Gøran Bomann
  • Kjell Jacobsen
  • Endre Kirkesola
  • Anders Kobro

2008 Sublife
  1. Dominant
  2. Your halo of thorns
  3. One-way ticket
  4. Fading embers
  5. As the play unfolds
  6. Forgotten sins, future lies
  7. The letter I
  8. Generic portraits
  9. Psychotic disorder
  10. Bringer of sins
  • Sven Axkel Henriksen
  • Gøran Bomann
  • Runar Hansen
  • Endre Kirkesola
  • Anders Kobro

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions