Origin: San Francisco, California, USA  
Genres: Doom Metal, Traditional Metal
Page online: March 31, 2016
Last update/review: November 27, 2018


Formed in 2009, Castle hails from San Francisco and thus far has recorded for the European Van label, with 2014's Under Siege their most recent album. Essentially the band plays a form of heavy, riffy doom, though in general the songs are too uptempo to be truly labelled doom. There's a bit of occult rock influences and what sounds like a healthy NWOBHM slant in the riffs, which is quite welcome. LiZ Blackwell's vocals are somewhat unique -- clear and melodic, but not particularly forceful, while guitarist Mat Davis' barky vocals provide a nice contrast. Castle is not a genre-breaking or even genre-defining band, they aren't complicated or intricate, but they have a cool, unique yet familiar style that suits them well.

Current Members

Elizabeth Blackwell


Mat Davis


Al McCartney



In Witch Order  
2011 Ván
  1. Descent of Man
  2. Fire in the Sky
  3. Slaves of the Pharaoh
  4. Knife in the Temple
  5. Total Betrayal
  6. Spellbinder
  7. Lost Queen
  8. Shaman Wars
  9. Sleeping Giant
  10. Butcher of Los Angeles
  11. Devil's Castle
  • Elizabeth Blackwell
  • Mat Davis
  • Al McCartney

2012 Ván
  1. Ever Hunter
  2. Corpse Candles
  3. Storm Below the Mountain
  4. Blacklands
  5. Curses of the Priests
  6. Venus Pentagram
  7. Alcatraz
  8. Dying Breed
  • Elizabeth Blackwell
  • Mat Davis
  • Al McCartney

Under Siege  
2014 Ván
  1. Distant Attack
  2. Be My Ghost
  3. A Killing Pace
  4. Pyramid Lake
  5. Powersigns
  6. Labyrinth of Death
  7. Temple of the Lost
  8. Evil Ways
  • Elizabeth Blackwell
  • Mat Davis
  • Al McCartney

Welcome To The Graveyard  
2016 Ván
  1. Black Widow
  2. Hammer and the Cross
  3. Welcome to the Graveyard
  4. Veil of Death
  5. Flash of the Pentagram
  6. Traitors Rune
  7. Down in the Cauldron Bog
  8. Natural Parallel
  • Elizabeth Blackwell
  • Mat Davis
  • Al McCartney

Deal Thy Fate  
2018 Ripple
  1. Can't Escape the Evil
  2. Skull in the Woods
  3. Prelude
  4. Hexenring
  5. Wait for Dark
  6. Deal thy Fate
  7. Haunted
  8. Red Phantom
  9. Firewind
  • Elizabeth Blackwell
  • Mat Davis
  • Al McCartney

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions