Origin: USA  
Genres: Death Metal
Last update/review: December 19, 2011

Dim Mak

Dim Mak is more or less the continuation of the band known as Ripping Corpse, who recorded one album in 1991 before disbanding two years later. Three members from that band ended up here, and a fourth, Erik Rutan (now of Morbid Angel fame) ended up producing this band's second album, Intercepting Fist. The name of the band comes from Chinese martial arts, and that subject is also prevalent in their lyrics, at least if song titles such as "Phoenix Eye Fist" or "Komodo Whip" are anything to go by. Musically the band is, like Ripping Corpse, straddling the line between thrash and death metal, perhaps leaning toward the latter. Interestingly, then-vocalist Scott Ruth sounded nothing like he did in his old band, opting for a rather monotonous death bark. Though at times a bit samey, this is a ferocious and intense modern American death metal band that should find favor with many a death fan. They've now released four albums, the most recent coming out in May 2011.

Current Members

Joe Capizzi


Shaune Kelley

guitars (ex-Hate Eternal, ex-Ripping Corpse)

Scott Hornick

bass (ex-Alas)

John Longstreth

drums (ex-Angelcorpse, ex-Gorguts, Origin, ex-Skinless, Unmerciful)

Former Members/Guests

Scott Ruth

vocals (ex-Ripping Corpse)

Dennis Carroll


Brandon Thomas

drums (ex-Ripping Corpse)


Enter The Dragon  
1999 Dies Irae
  1. Spirit Of The Dragon
  2. Defy The Clouds
  3. Level The Plane
  4. Cobra's Eyes
  5. Between Two Fires
  6. Royal Ass Whipping
  7. Insect To Insect
  8. No Rope A Dope
  9. Warchild
  10. Sorry
  11. Tribulations
  12. Gas Poured On Flame
  13. Drunk With Demons
  • Scott Ruth
  • Shaune Kelley
  • Dennis Carroll
  • Brandon Thomas

Intercepting Fist  
2002 Olympic
  1. Phoenix Eye Fist
  2. Tai Pan Snake Venom
  3. Komodo Whip
  4. Shambling
  5. Mindgate
  6. Den Of The Avalanche Dragon
  7. Interceptor
  8. Climbing Knife Mountain
  9. Nine Head Serpentine Sire
  10. Essence Of The Northern Fist
  11. To The Negative Power
  • Scott Ruth
  • Shaune Kelley
  • Dennis Carroll
  • Brandon Thomas

Knives Of Ice  
2006 Willowtip
  1. Knives of Ice
  2. Seeing Crows in Silver
  3. Great Worm of Hell
  4. Devil Finding Mirror
  5. Incident at the Temple at Leng
  6. Notorious Vectors of Disease
  7. Weakener
  8. Windowpane
  9. Perpetuating Corpses
  10. Monolith
  • Scott Ruth
  • Shaune Kelley
  • Scott Hornick
  • John Longstreth

The Emergence Of Reptilian Altars  
2011 Willowtip
  1. Thrice Cursed
  2. The Sounds of Carnage
  3. The Secret of the Tides of Blood
  4. Between Immensity and Eternity
  5. Through the Rivers of Pestilence
  6. Fully Disassembled
  7. Kutulu
  8. The Emergence of Reptilian Altars
  • Joe Capizzi
  • Shaune Kelley
  • Scott Hornick
  • John Longstreth

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions