Origin: Orange County, California, USA  
Genres: Post-Metal
Last update/review: January 22, 2017

Eyes Of Fire

Mindrot turned some heads in their relatively short career in the mid-nineties with their unique take on bleak, doom/industrial metal. Several years after that band's breakup, two members emerged in Eyes Of Fire, a band retaining a bit of the Mindrot past but in general forging a new path. Ashes To Embers, their 2004 debut album following an intro EP a year earlier, is a finely developed somber foray into semi-doom metal, with some songs wandering into Anathema territory and others retaining a crunchier, harshier style (see "Shelter" for an example). The band balance clean and harsh vocal styles effectively, with some hardcore-ish shouting in some songs but a fine clean style showing through on others. There are also some clear Neurosis similarities on the lengthier tracks such as "Last Goodbye" and "Breathe". They released Prisons in 2006 but no longer appear to be active.

Last Lineup

Dan Kaufmann

guitars/vocals (ex-Mindrot)

Bobby Thomas

guitars (ex-Morgion)

Matt Fisher

bass/vocals (ex-Mindrot)

Pete Traux


Nick Bernadi


Former Members/Guests

Cary Petersen


Ben Smith


John Haddad



Disintegrate  EP
2003 Century Media
  1. Disintegrate
  2. Hopeless
  3. Anyone
  • Dan Kaufmann
  • Cary Petersen
  • Matt Fisher
  • Ben Smith
  • John Haddad

Ashes To Embers  
2004 Century Media
  1. The End Result Is Falling
  2. Empty
  3. Fly Away
  4. Hopeless
  5. Down
  6. Fear
  7. Breathe
  8. One More
  9. Anyone
  10. Shelter
  11. Last Goodbye
  12. Disintigrate
  • Dan Kaufmann
  • Cary Petersen
  • Matt Fisher
  • Ben Smith
  • John Haddad

2006 Century Media
  1. Blood (This Consumes You)
  2. Gone Forever
  3. It All Dies Today
  4. True Love
  5. Dead to the World
  6. Falling Apart
  7. Salvation
  8. All Said and Done
  9. Fight Me
  10. Fire Inside
  • Dan Kaufmann
  • Bobby Thomas
  • Matt Fisher
  • Pete Traux
  • Nick Bernadi

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions