Origin: Stockholm, Sweden  
Genres: Melodic Death Metal
Last update/review: January 17, 2017

Ebony Tears

In the space of three albums Ebony Tears followed a couple different directions while staying within the basic field of death metal. On Tortura Insomniae the band is in the melodic NWOSDM camp, somewhere near where Fall Of The Leafe was at a similar time in their career, blending Maiden-ish melodies, violins, folk influences and the like, lending a bit of originality to their sound. By the time of Evil As Hell their sound had toughened up quite a bit, opting for a more brutal, less melodic death metal style. Mid-career, most of the members formed a sister band, Dog Faced Gods, exploring a more hardcore/death style that at the beginning was quite different from Ebony Tears, though the aforementioned Evil As Hell sounds much more like the Gods material. That band released one album in 1998, while the Tears lasted until 2002.

Last Lineup

Johnny Wranning

vocals (ex-Dog Faced Gods)

Conny Jonsson

guitars (ex-Dog Faced Gods)

Peter Kahm


Rickard Evansand

drums (ex-Dog Faced Gods, Demonoid, ex-Lion's Share, Sorcerer, guest for Therion)

Former Members/Guests

Thomas Thun


Lennart Glenberg


Iman Zolgharnian



Tortura Insomniae  
1998 Black Sun
  1. Moonlight
  2. Freak Jesus
  3. Nectars Of Eden
  4. With Tears In My Eyes
  5. Involuntary Exisstence
  6. Opacity
  7. Spoonbender
  8. Evergrey
  9. Skunk Hour
  • Johnny Wranning
  • Conny Jonsson
  • Thomas Thun
  • Iman Zolgharnian

A Handful Of Nothing  
1999 Black Sun
  1. Inferno
  2. Harvester Of Pain
  3. A Handful Of Nothing
  4. Scenario
  5. When Depression Speaks
  6. Erised
  7. Cosmical Transformation
  8. The End
  • Johnny Wranning
  • Conny Jonsson
  • Lennart Glenberg
  • Rickard Evansand

Evil As Hell  
2001 Century Media
  1. Deviation
  2. Soulcrusher
  3. Outrage
  4. Negative Creep
  5. Lowdown
  6. Hands Of Doom
  7. Lucified... Evil As Hell
  8. Deamon Ride
  • Johnny Wranning
  • Conny Jonsson
  • Peter Kahm
  • Rickard Evansand

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions