Origin: USA  
Last update/review: September 29, 2011


It's been no surprise that Mike Patton has kept himself busy following the breakup of Faith No More. He was active for some time in Mr. Bungle (who have now broken up), fronts another band by the name of Tomahawk, and has recorded and toured with The Dillinger Escape Plan, but one of his main projects these days is Fantômas. A supergroup of sorts, bringing together four class musicians from disparate backgrounds (Buzz Osbourne and Dave Lombardo are well known from their main bands, Melvins and Slayer, while Trevor Dunn played with Patton in Mr. Bungle), Fantômas is an intriguing group to say the least. Their first self-titled album (not reviewed here) received wildly varying reviews, some hailing it as a masterpiece and others proclaiming it a disjointed mess. For the followup, The Director's Cut, Patton and crew have decided to pay tribute to various horror films by covering various horror theme songs. The result is, predictably given Patton's involvement, unpredictable. There's very little in the way of Melvins sludge or Slayer thrash, yet Buzz's and Lombardo's contributions are not insignificant. Still, Patton is the clear leader here, with his eccentric vocal style and offbeat song writing/arranging in full force. The Director's Cut isn't a terribly metallic album (though there are several areas where metal is at the forefront), but it is dark, foreboding, and very interesting listening. Since then the band has continued its off-the-wall experimentalism, with 2003's Delirium Cordia consisting of one 74-minute song, and their new effort, Suspended Animation, apparently dealing with cartoon theme songs.

Current Members

Mike Patton

vocals (Dead Cross, ex-The Dillinger Escape Plan, ex-Faith No More, Mr. Bungle)

Buzz Osbourne

guitars (Melvins)

Trevor Dunn

bass (ex-Melvins, Mr. Bungle)

Dave Lombardo

drums (guest for Annihilator, Dead Cross, ex-Grip Inc., Mr. Bungle, ex-Slayer, Suicidal Tendencies, Testament, ex-Voodoocult)


1999 Ipecac
  • Mike Patton
  • Buzz Osbourne
  • Trevor Dunn
  • Dave Lombardo

The Director's Cut  
2001 Ipecac
  1. The Godfather
  2. Der Golem
  3. Experiment In Terror
  4. One Step Beyond
  5. Night Of The Hunter (Remix)
  6. Cape Fear
  7. Rosemary's Baby
  8. The Devil Rides Out (Remix)
  9. Spider Baby
  10. The Omen (Ave Satani)
  11. Henry: Portrait Of A Serial Killer
  12. Vendetta
  13. Investigation Of A Citizen Above Suspicion
  14. Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me
  15. Charade
  • Mike Patton
  • Buzz Osbourne
  • Trevor Dunn
  • Dave Lombardo

Delirium Cordia  
2003 Ipecac
  1. Delirium Cordia
  • Mike Patton
  • Buzz Osbourne
  • Trevor Dunn
  • Dave Lombardo

Suspended Animation  
2005 Ipecac
  1. 4-1-05
  2. 4-2-05
  3. 4-3-05
  4. 4-4-05
  5. 4-5-05
  6. 4-6-05
  7. 4-7-05
  8. 4-8-05
  9. 4-9-05
  10. 4-10-05
  11. 4-11-05
  12. 4-12-05
  13. 4-13-05
  14. 4-14-05
  15. 4-15-05
  16. 4-16-05
  17. 4-17-05
  18. 4-18-05
  19. 4-19-05
  20. 4-20-05
  21. 4-21-05
  22. 4-22-05
  23. 4-23-05
  24. 4-24-05
  25. 4-25-05
  26. 4-26-05
  27. 4-27-05
  28. 4-28-05
  29. 4-29-05
  30. 4-30-05
  • Mike Patton
  • Buzz Osbourne
  • Trevor Dunn
  • Dave Lombardo
2005 Readers' Album #92

The Director's Cut Live: A New Year's Revolution  VIDEO
2011 Ipecac

Copyright © 1995-2022 BNR Productions