Origin: Greece  
Genres: Power Metal
Official Site Facebook Twitter YouTube
Last update/review: June 8, 2020


Firewind is another band on the Leviathan Records label, where the line between "band" and "project" is rather gray. This band highlights the guitar wizardry of Greek wunderkind Gus G. (also in Dream Evil), and originally also featured vocalist Stephen Fredrick, late of another Leviathan project, Kenziner. With a name like Firewind and song titles like "I Will Fight Alone" and "Warrior", one might guess this is a power metal band, and one would be quite correct in doing so. Though this is the kind of metal that's much more popular in Europe than America, Between Heaven And Hell foregoes the more upbeat Euro happy power metal style in favor of a more aggressive approach, though one still firmly rooted in traditional 80's power metal. As such, this is an accomplished record yet not one to surprise the listener very often (though the cover of the Scorpions' track "Pictured Life" is a nice touch) -- no, this is solid, expertly crafted heavy metal, with Gus G's flashy guitarwork frequently highlighted and well complemented by Stephen Fredrick's forceful vocals. Firewind is quite recommended for pure, traditional American power metal fans.

Current Members

Herbie Langhans

vocals (ex-Seventh Avenue, ex-Sinbreed, ex-Voodoo Circle)

Gus G. (Kostas Karamitroudis)

guitars (ex-Dream Evil, ex-Mystic Prophecy, ex-Nightrage, ex-Ozzy Osbourne)

Petros Christo


Jo Nunez


Former Members/Guests

Stephen Fredrick

vocals (ex-Kenziner)

Chity Somapala

vocals (ex-Moonlight Agony, ex-Power Quest)

Apollo Papathanasio

vocals (ex-Evil Masquerade, ex-Meduza, Spiritual Beggars)

Henning Basse

vocals (Metalium)



Bob Katsionis

keyboards (ex-Nightfall, ex-Revolution Renaissance, ex-Septicflesh, guest for Serious Black)

Brian Harris

drums (ex-Kenziner, ex-My Own Victim, ex-Solstice)

Stian Kristoffersen

drums (Chastain, ex-Dimension F3H, ex-Jorn, Pagan's Mind)

Mark Cross

drums (ex-At Vance, ex-Helloween, ex-Metalium, ex-Nightfall, guest for Saracen, ex-Winters Bane)

Micahel Ehre



Between Heaven And Hell  
2002 Leviathan
  1. Between Heaven And Hell
  2. Warrior
  3. World Of Conflict
  4. Destination Forever
  5. Oceans
  6. Tomorrow Can Wait
  7. Pictured Life
  8. Firewind Raging
  9. I Will Fight Alone
  10. Northern Sky
  11. Fire
  12. Who Am I
  • Stephen Fredrick
  • Gus G.
  • Konstantine
  • Brian Harris

Burning Earth  
2003 Leviathan
  1. Steal Them Blind
  2. I Am The Anger
  3. Immortal Lives Young
  4. Burning Earth
  5. The Fire & The Fury
  6. You Have Survived
  7. Brother's Keeper
  8. Waiting Still
  9. The Longest Day
  10. Still The Winds (Japanese bonus)
  • Stephen Fredrick
  • Gus G.
  • Petros Christo
  • Stian Kristoffersen

Forged By Fire  
2005 Century Media
  1. Kill To Live
  2. Beware The Beast
  3. Tyranny
  4. The Forgotten Memory
  5. Hateworld Hero
  6. Escape From Tomorrow
  7. Feast Of The Savages
  8. Burn In Hell
  9. Perished In Flames
  10. Land Of Eternity
  • Chity Somapala
  • Gus G.
  • Petros Christo
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Stian Kristoffersen

2006 Century Media
  1. Allegiance
  2. Insanity
  3. Falling To Pieces
  4. Ready To Strike
  5. Breaking The Silence
  6. Deliverance
  7. Till The End Of Time
  8. Dreamchaser
  9. Before The Storm
  10. The Essence
  11. Where do we go from Here?
  12. Healing Tool (Japan bonus track)
  13. Demon Nights (Japan bonus track)
  • Apollo Papathanasio
  • Gus G.
  • Petros Christo
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Mark Cross
2006 Readers' Album #97

The Premonition  
2008 Century Media
  1. Into The Fire
  2. Head Up High
  3. Mercenary Man
  4. Angels Forgive Me
  5. Remembered
  6. My Loneliness
  7. Circle Of Life
  8. The Silent Code
  9. Maniac
  10. Life Foreclosed
  • Apollo Papathanasio
  • Gus G.
  • Petros Christo
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Mark Cross
2008 Readers' Album #43

Live Premonition  
2008 Century Media
  1. Allegiance
  2. Insanity
  3. Into The Fire
  4. Head Up High
  5. Mercenary Man
  6. Angels Forgive Me
  7. My Loneliness
  8. Circle Of Life
  9. The Silent Code
  10. Life Foreclosed
  11. Destination Forever
  12. Keyboard Solo
  13. Guitar Solo
  14. The Fire And The Fury
  15. Drum Solo / Dreamchaser
  16. Till The End Of Time
  17. Deliverance
  18. Brother"s Keeper
  19. Between Heaven And Hell
  20. I Am The Anger
  21. Falling To Pieces
  22. Tyranny
  • Apollo Papathanasio
  • Gus G.
  • Petros Christo
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Mark Cross

Live Premonition  VIDEO
2008 Century Media

Days Of Defiance  
2010 Century Media
  1. The Ark Of Lies
  2. World On Fire
  3. Chariot
  4. Embrace The Sun
  5. The Departure
  6. Heading For The Dawn
  7. Broken
  8. Cold As Ice
  9. Kill In The Name Of Love
  10. SKG
  11. Losing Faith
  12. The Yearning
  13. When All Is Said And Done
  14. Riding On The Wind (iTunes exclusive)
  • Apollo Papathanasio
  • Gus G.
  • Petros Christo
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Micahel Ehre

Few Against Many  
2012 Century Media
  1. Wall of Sound
  2. Losing My Mind
  3. Few Against Many
  4. The Undying Fire
  5. Another Dimension
  6. Glorious
  7. Edge of a Dream
  8. Destiny
  9. Long Gone Tomorrow
  10. No Heroes, No Sinners
  • Apollo Papathanasio
  • Gus G.
  • Petros Christo
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Jo Nunez

2017 Century Media
  1. Hands Of Time
  2. We Defy
  3. Ode To Leonidas
  4. Back On The Throne
  5. Live And Die By The Sword
  6. Wars Of Ages
  7. Lady Of 1000 Sorrows
  8. Immortals
  9. Warriors And Saints
  10. Rise From The Ashes
  • Henning Basse
  • Gus G.
  • Petros Christo
  • Bob Katsionis
  • Jo Nunez

2020 AFM
  1. Welcome to the Empire
  2. Devour
  3. Rising Fire
  4. Break Away
  5. Orbitual Sunrise
  6. Longing to Know You
  7. Perfect Stranger
  8. Overdrive
  9. All My Life
  10. Space Cowboy
  11. Kill the Pain
  • Herbie Langhans
  • Gus G.
  • Petros Christo
  • Jo Nunez

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions