Origin: Norway  
Official Site
Last update/review: July 30, 2006


Griffin was formed in 1998, initially as a side project as the members were involved in various other bands at the time. Eventually the project became a proper band after a couple of demos, their debut, Wasteland Serenades, was released in 2000. Their sound is somewhat unique (particularly for a Norwegian band), a mixture of straight-ahead aggressive metal and 80's thrash, the kind of style that one might find familiar but at the same time be hard pressed to name any single band as a soundalike. Though not entirely in left field, these guys clearly are trying to inject some originality into their music, and the result is a satisfying debut. 2002's followup, The Sideshow, is less thrash-based and a shade more accessible than the debut, but still with a degree of originality too often absent in metal bands. The band is not yet particularly well known, but their next album (No Holds Barred) on Season Of Mist) might move them up a notch in the popularity stakes.

Note: no relation to Griffin, the 80's San Francisco metal band.

Last Lineup

Rolf Bakken


Kai Nergaard


Roar Naustvoll


Johnny Wangberg


Alessandro Elide


Former Members/Guests

Tommy Sebastian Halseth

vocals (ex-Atrox, ex-Godsend, ex-Manes)

Peter Beck

vocals (ex-Atrox)

Marcus Silver


Marius Karlsen



Wasteland Serenades  
2000 Season Of Mist
  1. Mechanized Reality
  2. The Usurper
  3. Spice Keeps Me Silent
  4. Obsession
  5. New Business Capitalized
  6. Hunger Strikes
  7. Always Closing
  8. Punishment Macabre
  9. Exit 2000
  10. Wasteland Serenade
  11. Dream Of The Dreamers (Bliss 2)
  • Tommy Sebastian Halseth
  • Kai Nergaard
  • Johnny Wangberg
  • Marius Karlsen

The Sideshow  
2002 Season Of Mist
  1. Prologue
  2. Shadows Of Deception
  3. Horrific
  4. Freakshow
  5. The Last Rays Of A Dying Sun
  6. Death Row League
  7. What If
  8. A Distant Shore
  9. Vengeance Is Mine
  10. Today's Castaway
  11. Cosmic Revelation
  12. Epilogue
  • Tommy Sebastian Halseth
  • Kai Nergaard
  • Marcus Silver
  • Johnny Wangberg
  • Marius Karlsen

No Holds Barred  
2004 Face Front
  1. Unbreakable
  2. Praise the Rain
  3. New Boss
  4. Weightless
  5. Heavy Mental Overload
  6. Second Time Around
  7. Fleet Street Superstars
  8. Feeding the Fire
  9. Bleed
  10. Sacred World
  • Peter Beck
  • Kai Nergaard
  • Marcus Silver
  • Johnny Wangberg
  • Marius Karlsen

2005 Face Front
  1. Accelerate
  2. Rest
  3. Premonition
  4. Recipe For Rage
  5. Utopia
  6. Dungeon
  7. Moment Of Madness
  8. Building A Future
  9. Lifeforce
  10. Bound In Re-runs
  11. Leylines
  • Peter Beck
  • Kai Nergaard
  • Marcus Silver
  • Johnny Wangberg
  • Marius Karlsen

The Ultimate Demise  
2007 Burning Star
  1. Intro
  2. The Ultimate Demise
  3. Down on You
  4. Legends Live Forever
  5. Crown of Thorns
  6. Losing Control
  7. Angel
  8. Pretty Hate Machine
  9. Restless Dreams
  10. Ain't Hard to Die
  11. Here Comes the Pain
  12. Outro
  • Rolf Bakken
  • Kai Nergaard
  • Roar Naustvoll
  • Johnny Wangberg
  • Alessandro Elide

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions