Origin: Quebec City, Quebec, Canada  
Genres: Traditional Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: April 7, 2011


The French Canadian band Hanker formed back in 1985 and toiled for nine years before their first album came out in 1994. That album, In Our World, would the first of five albums for the band over the next 16+ years, with their career coming to a close in March 2011. The band was clearly rooted in power metal, but not the current melodic Euro variety -- Hanker sounded much more like a NWOBHM band, particularly on their first two releases, with a raw, rough style and a youthful energy that was quite effective. Iron Maiden influences abounded here, with the vocals more along the lines of, perhaps, Harry Conklin of Jag Panzer (early JP was another occasional soundalike). They enjoyed some success in their home country and in Europe, but for whatever reasons critical and fan acclaim never translated to worldwide fame.

Last Lineup

Pascal Cliche


Patrick Gravel

guitars/backing vocals

Laurent Imbeau


Luc Guay


Former Members/Guests

Martin Jones


Denis Cossette


Jean-Francois Fillion


Sylvain Tremblay



In Our World  
1994 independent
  1. I'd Like To Know
  2. Bloodbath In Heaven
  3. In Our World
  4. Gardeners Of Pain
  5. Cradle Of The Night
  6. Disturbing The Brain
  7. Fight The Light
  8. Staring At The Rain
  9. Pay No More
  10. Lethal Liar
  11. This Could Be Heaven
  • Pascal Cliche
  • Patrick Gravel
  • Martin Jones
  • Jean-Francois Fillion

The Dead Ringer  
1997 independent
  1. Unsung Hero
  2. Holy Screen
  3. You Won't Live Eternally
  4. The Clown
  5. They Are Gone
  6. Dead As The Night
  7. The Age Of The Quick Fix
  8. F.A.T.E.
  9. No More War
  10. United We Stand, Divided We Fall
  • Pascal Cliche
  • Patrick Gravel
  • Martin Jones
  • Jean-Francois Fillion

Snakes And Ladders  
2000 Metal Disk
  1. Ad Patres
  2. The Pardoner
  3. Hail To You
  4. Seven
  5. Save Your Life
  6. Confidence Man
  7. Far From The Cradle
  8. On The Verge Of Tears
  9. Fool's Paradise
  10. The Eternal Struggle
  11. Behind The Curtain
  • Pascal Cliche
  • Patrick Gravel
  • Denis Cossette
  • Luc Guay

Web Of Faith  
2004 Skyscraper
  1. Empower
  2. Inside Me
  3. Stigmata
  4. Let Me Out
  5. Do Or Die
  6. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
  7. The Search
  8. Under Cover Of Darkness
  9. Face To Face
  10. Point Of No Return
  11. The Huntsman
  12. Web Of Faith
  • Pascal Cliche
  • Patrick Gravel
  • Denis Cossette
  • Luc Guay

Conspiracy Of Mass Extinction  
2010 Hellion
  1. Fear The End
  2. Beyond The Pale
  3. Castaway
  4. Battle Cries
  5. Who’s Crying Loud
  6. Conspiracy Of Mass Extinction
  7. The Infernal Depths Beneath
  8. Fire
  9. Crawlers
  10. Ruins Of Generations
  11. The One Among Them
  12. First To Know
  13. Feel It Again
  • Pascal Cliche
  • Patrick Gravel
  • Laurent Imbeau
  • Sylvain Tremblay

Copyright © 1995-2021 BNR Productions